Shaped Vanilla Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
WOW, these were GREAT! I used butter instead of margarine, and I didn't make them into shapes. The taste was phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This is exactly the kind of sugar cookie I want! It's thick and chewy and soft and sweet and vanilla-y! These are great to eat by themselves or with frosting. My only complaint is that 3 cups flour was not enough for me. I had to flour the board quite a bit to be able to handle the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Simple to make and very tasty. I used better instead of margerine and they were fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Just what I was looking for!! This recipe is great; it makes soft cutouts without chilling the dough. I did use real butter, but other than that followed the recipe exactly. Quick and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
The best cookie ever! I couldn't roll out the dough, it was too sticky but with frosting and sprinkles these are the best Christmas Cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
These were okay, a little too salty for a cookie but edible. I tried to roll them out but they were way too sticky. Definitely not a cut out cookie recipe. I scooped with a small cookie scoop and they were so sticky they wouldn't let go of the scoop. They became deformed balls, so I had to put in the fridge for an hour and then make them look like balls. I will never make these again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
pretty good but be sure to follow the advice to use frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
These cookies turned out delicious! Though they were a little round and puffy. But still delicious. I didn't use frosting though as I thought that would make them a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Very good. My father compared them to my late grandmothers. A wonderful compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chzheadgrl
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
ALL I HAVE TO SAY IS OMG!!!!!! I GREW UP IN THE ITALIAN SECTION OF NEWARK, NJ, AND I USED TO BABYSIT FOR A NICE ITALIAN LADY WHO MADE THESE COOKIES ALL THE TIME. THE LOCAL BAKERIES EVEN HAD THEM, AND I ALWAYS WISHED THAT I KNEW HOW TO MAKE THEM. I CANNOT BELIEVE I FOUND THEM HERE!!! WHAT MAKES THEM "ITALIAN" IS THAT IS USES ALMOND EXTRACT AS OPPOSED TO VANILLA, AND WHEN STARTED TO MAKE THE DOUGH, I DECIDED TO TWEAK THIS RECIPE AND USE ALMOND EXTRACT INSTEAD, I AM GLAD I DID!! I WILL DEFINITELY MAKE THESE AGAIN!! THANK YOU FOR POSTING THIS RECIPE!! IT BROUGHT BACK LOTS OF MEMORIES FOR ME!! I ALSO USED BAKING POWDER INSTEAD OF THE BAKING SODA. I TOPPED THEM OFF WITH CONFECTIONER SUGAR GLAZE( CONFECTIONER SUGAR MIXED WITH MILK AND VANILLA EXTRACT) AND NONPAREL SPRINKLES. THEY WERE A HIT WITH MY FAMILY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jseidel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States