Shaped Vanilla Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Absolutely the BEST "sugar" cookie we have ever tried! Sililar to the soft butter cookies from the grocery store bakery and almost identical to the fudge topped Berger's Bakery cookie in Maryland!! Don't know what John did to mess them up (poor review)- but bet he would change his mind if they were made correctly- YUMMMMMM! All 8 of my kids beg for these to be made- we top them with marshmellow fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Absolutely delicious! They were easy to make and turned out fabulous. I worked with half of the dough at first and refrigerated the other half. I added 1 tsp cinnamon for a little extra flavor, and be sure to roll the dough out thickly because I made my first few a little too thin and they were more crunchy than soft. Great recipe though, I brought them to a party and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Izzylicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
I have made these 3 times and each time had great results. Rave reviews too! I did use butter instead of margarine. I really like the fact that you don't have to refrigerate them before rolling - a real time saver!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Awesome cookies. I baked a batch for my mom for mother's day and sent them 3000 miles to her. She called me a few days later raving about how good they were. The only problem... I cant stop myself from eating them when I bake them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Absinthe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I love this recipe! Quick, easy, and the cookies are so soft! I have been looking for a soft chocolate chip cookie. After I made these as cut out cookies with sugar on top I used the same recipe but instead of white sugar I used brown sugar and added semi sweet chocolate chips. Yum! My new chocolate chip cookie that stays soft even when cooled!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Very nice! I was looking for a good basic cookie base, for chocolate chip cookies and such, and this one works well. I used baking powder, instead of soda, because I don't like the taste of soda. Also, I miss read the amount and ended up putting in a teaspoon of baking powder instead of a half. Other than that, I didn't change anything. Right before I put them on the trays, I added have a package of chocolate chips, and some smarties for colour. They turned out fantastic; the texture is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I am not a big sugar cookie fan, so these were a great alternative when I wanted to make Halloween shaped cookies with my son. When he got tired, we add chocolate chips to the remaining batter and made chocolate chip cookies- so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoryAmara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muskegon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This was a really easy, great to roll and cut out cookie!!! Thank you for posting this, I made this recipe twice, the first time I followed as directed, the second time I used 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 shortening, 1 tsp. nutmeg, 1 Tbs. Vanilla, 1 tsp. lemon juice, and they turned out great a second time. Hubby and son loved them, I am frosting and decorating them, and will be freezing them for Christmas, I am sure they will be great! -Crystal Seaman (Pennsylvania)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montoursville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
YUMMY! They are a bit sticky but I refrigerate them for a couple of hours before rolling them out and they work great. We like this recipe so much, I add things like chocolate chips to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookingSherri
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
These cookies are great. They taste almost exactly like the ones my Scottish grammy used to make. She sprinkled hers with sugar and would sometimes make an imprint to the middle and add jam b4 cooking (like thumbprint cookies). But they were big and tasted "cakey" just like these. They are very versatile...I made xmas cutouts with the kids and the dough was beautiful to work with...I rolled them out fairly thin but they were still soft. I refridgerated it for about 15 mins prior to rolling....perfeCT! I'm going to try doing jam sandwich style cutouts nextime....I think it would work nicely with this recipe. All I can say is that these are great & soooooooooooooo easy & quick compared to other sugar cookie recipes i've tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States