Shaped Vanilla Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This cookie is simply awesome!!... the first time i baked these cookies were when my husband was coming back home the next day from chicago. So i tried one in the middle of the night watching t.v. and thought that i wont eat any more then got up to get another one then another one and very soon i realised that i litrally ate 12 cookies i was simply addicted to them in the very first bite.... and was little hard for me to resist. Then i looked in that container i which i only had 5 more left then i had to stop. Next time i made this cookie was for my hubby to take it to his office and another person asked for the recipe... surely make this in future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katie_luvs2bake!
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
this is a great recipe, i used it to make "alfajores" which are kind of a cookie sandwich very popular in chile. I filled them with "dulce de leche" or manjar as we call it. You can do this boiling a can of sweetened condensed milk, there are recipes here that show you how. "caramel sauce" recipe is one of them. its not caramel though.. its really good. im freezing them now, after individually wrapping each in plastic wrap and putting in an airtight container. when i need them i will thaw at room temperature for like 20 minutes and fill them with manjar and dip in white and semisweet chocolate. they are a very good rich treat didnt make 24 cookies, made 60!!! IM GIVING IT A 4 because the dough was sticky and i had to chill it a bit, and add alot of flour to roll it out. the cookies was great though update: so, this isnt an alfajor type cookie so i dipped them and frosted them with melted chocolate.. sooo good. i will make my alfajores today though :) UPDATE! lol, im going to use these after all. it makes a havanna type alfajor. try it! i went out and bought an havanna alfajor just to see if i could use these cookies LOL!! i just loved the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie_luvs2bake!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
THE BEST sugar cookie recipe! Definitely a winner! I tried several.. all pretty good, but just not the texture I was looking for. This is a soft, cake-like cookie with great flavor. I didn't change any ingredients. Made the dough as directed, separated into 3 disks, stored in the fridge for a few days until I had time to cut them out. The dough is easy to work with and the cookies cut/bake beautifully. This will be my go-to recipe from now on! TIP: if you're really into making cut-out cookies or pie crusts, buy a good rolling pin w/cover and a pastry cloth. Cuts down on the amount of flour needed. Worth the cost and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookingSherri
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
These cookies are great. They taste almost exactly like the ones my Scottish grammy used to make. She sprinkled hers with sugar and would sometimes make an imprint to the middle and add jam b4 cooking (like thumbprint cookies). But they were big and tasted "cakey" just like these. They are very versatile...I made xmas cutouts with the kids and the dough was beautiful to work with...I rolled them out fairly thin but they were still soft. I refridgerated it for about 15 mins prior to rolling....perfeCT! I'm going to try doing jam sandwich style cutouts nextime....I think it would work nicely with this recipe. All I can say is that these are great & soooooooooooooo easy & quick compared to other sugar cookie recipes i've tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
YUMMY! They are a bit sticky but I refrigerate them for a couple of hours before rolling them out and they work great. We like this recipe so much, I add things like chocolate chips to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This was a really easy, great to roll and cut out cookie!!! Thank you for posting this, I made this recipe twice, the first time I followed as directed, the second time I used 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 shortening, 1 tsp. nutmeg, 1 Tbs. Vanilla, 1 tsp. lemon juice, and they turned out great a second time. Hubby and son loved them, I am frosting and decorating them, and will be freezing them for Christmas, I am sure they will be great! -Crystal Seaman (Pennsylvania)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montoursville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Absolutely delicious! They were easy to make and turned out fabulous. I worked with half of the dough at first and refrigerated the other half. I added 1 tsp cinnamon for a little extra flavor, and be sure to roll the dough out thickly because I made my first few a little too thin and they were more crunchy than soft. Great recipe though, I brought them to a party and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Izzylicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I am not a big sugar cookie fan, so these were a great alternative when I wanted to make Halloween shaped cookies with my son. When he got tired, we add chocolate chips to the remaining batter and made chocolate chip cookies- so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoryAmara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muskegon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Very nice! I was looking for a good basic cookie base, for chocolate chip cookies and such, and this one works well. I used baking powder, instead of soda, because I don't like the taste of soda. Also, I miss read the amount and ended up putting in a teaspoon of baking powder instead of a half. Other than that, I didn't change anything. Right before I put them on the trays, I added have a package of chocolate chips, and some smarties for colour. They turned out fantastic; the texture is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
delicious! i made my cookies into maple leaves and sprinkled cinnamon over them. it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States