Shannon's Smoky Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I wish I had remembered the note in the reviews to use half the cayenne. I forgot and used a whole teaspoon. Way, way too much! I think for next time I would leave it out completely. Otherwise this is a relatively easy dish to make.....and it makes a lot! Our family of three ate it for four days as a main dish. I had all the cheeses on hand, but I do think it would work with other cheeses. The smoked Gouda does leave a nice smoky taste. Overall a really great twist on mac and cheese and a definite keeper for us. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I LOVED this mac and cheese! so simple and the taste is wonderful. I made this for a neighborhood party and it was the hit of the party. I used everything but the swiss cheese because I didn't have it in the house. I also used more bread crumbs to cover the top. And I added bacon to the mixture. Thanks for the recipe! I will def. be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Very good, smoked gouda is one of our favorites. Dish is a little heavy, but extremely tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
followed the recipe exactly. I had brick cheese so I had to shred by hand. that was the only time consuming thing for me. this was a hit with the family will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blevande

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly. Nice spiciness, and I love smoked gouda, but this just didn't work for me at all. For some reason I think it was the swiss and also way too much gouda, they just fought each other, but, I thank you for the recipe. I think this was just a personal preference thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
The taste of this dish was very different from the traditional baked mac & cheese. I was a little skeptical about all the milk that this dish asked for so I only added 4c of milk and I thought it was too soupy so I added more breadcrumbs and it helped thicken it up. Also, I purchased the regular gouda cheese since I couldn't find the smoked kind at the deli and I just added liquid smoke to the dish.... this mac & cheese is super yummy. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiRiFan10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
didn't notice the changes to the recipe until it was too late... waste of cheese. 2/5 stars as writen. would probably be good if made right... the cheese mix tastes nice, but mac and cheese shouldn't be spicy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
GREAT RECIPE! my husband doesn't usually care for macaroni and cheese, he loved this one and even asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
What a phenomenal dish! I made this three weekends in a row as a side for BBQ and it usually disappeared around Tuesday. I made it exactly as written and it was rich, creamy and very tasty. The only thing I added was a little salt in the bread crumb red pepper coating. This is one of the best dishes on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I halved this recipe and still easily filled a 9x13 pan and made A LOT of mac and cheese. I have a personal favorite recipe for mac and cheese that I doctor on a regular basis. This is a very close second... It was so great and I loved every bite. I added some italian seasoning and some black pepper. But those are the only changes I made! It's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States