Shannon's Smoky Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by KevinBerry7406
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Made this almost exactly the way the author wrote it (just swapped swiss cheese for Gruyere) and it was overall okay. The consistency was fairly grainy and I wouldn't include the parmesan cheese in the mix again - I would just use it for the topping. One bonus is that this reheats really, really well and makes a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KevinBerry7406

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Made about 2/3 of the recipe and it was good! ... don't think you need as much topping as the recipe calls for ... could use some more salt and if I didn't have kids, I'd add a little kick. Will seem like there's too much sauce, but thickens up nicely in the oven. Used ff evaporated milk as I had some to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Not a great Mac and Cheese recipe. I didn't care for the texture the parmesan cheese gave the dish. I love all the cheeses in the recipe, so that wasn't the issue. It was runny after I cooked it and dry after refrigeration (which most mac and cheese is anyway). It makes a ton and is expensive. It definitely wasn't good enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baslhicks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Fantastic! The only change I made was swapping smoked paprika for cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
For the first time making mac & cheese from scratch, this recipe was clear and concise. However...the final dish was a bit bland tasting. I'm thinking, some seasoned bread crumbs next time. And rather than 1/2 cup of crumbs, I'll double that portion of the recipe. The crunchy topping was the tastiest part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Loved the consistency and flavor. Changed up the cheeses a bit to use what I had in my refrigerator and it tasted great. Good anytime recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Yum.....this is a keeper. It is important to read the chef's note which staes a typo, 1 1/2 C. bread crumbs and 1/2 t. cayenne. I had leftover ham so I popped in a cup or so of that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Absolutely delicious. Not everyone likes the smoky flavor of gouda, but for those who do, this will be a hit. I would suggest using just a dash of the cayenne for the topping or remove it all together. This is definitely a grown up version of man-n-cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLENE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Really, really good, with a lot of potential. I may have overdone the smoked Gouda, and would use half smoked, half non-smoked next time (or maybe 75/25), as the smoky flavor was a titch overwhelming (but I'm not a huge fan of smoky flavors). I used about 4 cups of half and half, and a cup and a half of whole milk, and Provolone in place of the Swiss (not a fan of the Swiss cheese, although to be fair, I should have given it a chance in this dish). I also used Trader Joe's whole wheat rotini, and may change that next time, although the ridges held the sauce beautifully. The only other change I made was to use melted butter over the Panko and parm mix instead of olive oil. This recipe proves that it's only as good as the ingredients. Use the best you can afford, as it makes a difference. Reheats wonderfully. I know it annoys me when people people rate a recipe up or down based on their changes, but I think this recipe lends itself to easy, personal- preference changes. If you don't like Swiss, don't use Swiss. If you don't like spicy, don't use the red pepper in the crust (or double it, like I did). Wonderfully adaptable, but I promise to try it exactly as written next time, with more adaptations the time after. There WILL be a next time. Next times. We're all fighting over the left-overs, and that seldom happens in my house. One of the best recipes I've run across here, and that's saying a LOT. Thank you for an easy, delicious, unlimited- possibilities recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Greendale, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States