Shannon's Smoky Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I made this for my boyfriend (a finicky eater) and he LOVES it. He decided that we are making it to take to his moms for Thanksgiving. 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Very very very good! Made about half of recipe in 9x9 pyrex, whew doggies that is good! Serves about 6 adults very healthy portions, any more and just too rich...I'm giving away over half as the two of us won't eat near this much macc & cheese for over a month. This is awesome Shannon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OdaMae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
this was my first time making homemade mac n' cheese and boy did i pick the right recipe. My boyfriend and I both LOVED it! It makes a lot and is SUPER filling though. We will have leftovers for a week! I added 1 tsp garlic powder and black pepper to the roux and topped it with parsley. Served it with chopped up ham (mixed it in) and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Fantastic. I've made it four Thanksgivings in a row, sometimes using the different cheeses called for, and sometimes using almost all smoked gouda. Sometimes it's been grainy, so the most recent time I used the following adjustments, and it was perfect! ANTI-GRAININESS VARIATION: INGREDIENTS: 8 T (1 stick) butter, 6 T flour, 4 c milk + 2 c heavy cream, a small amount of processed cheese for stabilizing (Velveeta/American), 4-6 c shredded cheese (I used 2 half-lb packages of smoked gouda, 1 c grated parmesean, 1 c shredded cheddar), 1/2 t paprika, pasta. TOPPING: 1 c panko crumbs, 1/2 c parm, 1/2 t cayenne pepper, optional t of parsley for color, 2-3 T melted butter (or olive oil). STEPS: Melt butter. Wisk in flour to make roux. Let bubble, but don't burn. Add a little milk/cream and stir until roux is incorporated. Add the rest of the milk/cream. Heat over medium-high heat, wisking constantly, until thickened. Lower heat and simmer, stirring occasionally, 10 mins. REMOVE FROM HEAT BEFORE ADDING CHEESE. Add a small amount of a processed cheese, which stabilizes the sauce/prevents graininess. Stir until melted. Add shredded cheese, cover, and let sit until melted, stirring occasionally. Turn on low heat if necessary to get it to melt, but don't overheat-DON'T let it boil. Add paprika. Cool. Make pasta and cool. Add cooled pasta to cooled cheese sauce and pour into 13x9 pan. Refrigerate until chilled. Combine topping ingredients and sprinkle over pasta. Bake at 400 until golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Tucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Awesome! Do mix the topping to spread the cayenne evenly, or just add it to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This was delicious! We needed to use up some gouda and this was perfect. I didn't find it too heavy for a homemade Mac and cheese like some others did. We added about a pound of crab the second time around and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tequina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I usually use more cheese to suit our tastes and use varied cheeses but the smoked gouda makes it perfect. Great with BBQ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Every time I make this recipe it keeps getting better and better. As a stand alone recipe it is surely five stars, but of course tweaking the recipe to meet your tastebuds can make this recipe an easy six...oh wait...can't do 6, although it is in my mind. As a minor adjustment I add a bit of liquid smoke because I like the smokey flavor. I also mix in heavy cream to thicken it up and give it additional richness (not that it needs it---just decadent).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherry lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
It was worth trying once but I thought this was exceptionally average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Add bacon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States