Shannon's Smoky Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by S.Michael
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
CHEF'S NOTE: The measurements for the bread crumbs and cayenne are incorrect! It should read: 1/2 cup bread crumbs (I use Panko) 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.Michael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Absolutely wonderful. I only made one change and that's using all fat free evaporated milk. The combination of these cheeses was just wonderful. My boys ate it all and the little I had was just......WONDERFUL. This is going to be my new macaroni and cheese recipe. NOTE: I did add a little hot sauce, onion/garlic powder and dijon mustard but I add that to every macaroni and cheese recipe I make as it's a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
DELECTABLE! I made this using whole wheat pasta, skim milk and 2% milk cheese (except the smoked Gouda). It still turned out incredibly rich and creamy. The only addition was 6 strips of crumbled, center cut bacon mixed in with the bread crumb topping. Everyone at my table raved over this mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Absolutely delicious Mac and Cheese. The smoked gouda is important. I think next time I might add a few more bread crumbs to the top but an otherwise amazing recipe! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Awesome flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I have tried this out at several dinner parties and first on my boyfriend. Everyone has raved about the taste. I haven't changed much. What I use for cheeses are: Artisan Smoked Gouda, Imported Swiss Gruyere, Aged 10 Month Parmesan Shredded, and being a loyal Vermonter I use Seriously Sharp Hunters' Cabot Cheddar. I find that if you are patient in melting the cheese (shredding is the fastest way to melt it, not cubing like I tried once) that it does not produce a grainy consistency. I whole heartedly give two very enthusiastic thumbs up. Thank you Shannon for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
My husband thinks he's died and gone to Heaven when I fix this! It goes great with just about any meat you choose to fix. I never use the same cheeses, I go to the deli counter and ask them if they have ANY "cheese ENDS", they sell them for 50 cents a lb... This scrumptous dish usually cost me about $2.50....for 10 servings!! Thanks S.Michael for a great recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
loved it!! added fresh oregano, parsley and basil chopped
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This recipe is great with smoked gouda!! My family absolutely loved this recipe! I made a few little changes. I substituted provolone for the swiss, and added a quarter cup of chopped crispy bacon. Amazing "comfort food" recipe!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Really good, a nice twist on tradional Mac & Cheese. Need to add salt and pepper. I don't like spicy so, I halved the cayenne pepper and that was the perfect amount of kick for me. Definitely going to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States