Shannon's Smoky Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was really good!! It was my first time to make homemade mac and cheese, and I thought it was pretty easy. I was a little confused on how thick to make to milk, butter, and flour roux....I just stirred it until it was thick little buttermilk and it worked perfect. I also added a little lemon juice to my shredded cheeses, so the sauce would not be string. I also took the pan off the heat before I added the cheese to the mixture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
The crumb topping is a bit much, but it is a decent mac n cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hobart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Best mac and cheese ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Made it for the first time. Very delicious. Was a hit with everyone. Replaced parmesan with asiago and used more bread crumbs (panko). Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turtle
Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I'm not a macaroni and cheese fan but I had a lot of leftover smoked gouda so decided to give this a try. I didn't use as much cheese as the recipe called for and used whole wheat penne instead of elbow but it was great. I also didn't have enough parmesan for both the sauce and the crust so I used McCormick Parmesan Herb seasoning with panko bread crumbs and it was great. I actually forgot the olive oil and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is seriously The Best Mac & Cheese I have ever had! The flavors in it are incredible and it is so creamy. This is the second time I've made it and it was better this time. I think because the first time (which was just a couple weeks ago) I had to make it for a school function and needed to serve 12 so the measurements (through Allrecipes) didn't work right. But, tonight it was just perfect. Everyone had seconds. Thanks for such a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Very tasty....I added some more pepper flakes to kick it up a bit.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pittstlrfan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Absolutely wonderful. I only made one change and that's using all fat free evaporated milk. The combination of these cheeses was just wonderful. My boys ate it all and the little I had was just......WONDERFUL. This is going to be my new macaroni and cheese recipe. NOTE: I did add a little hot sauce, onion/garlic powder and dijon mustard but I add that to every macaroni and cheese recipe I make as it's a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Really good, a nice twist on tradional Mac & Cheese. Need to add salt and pepper. I don't like spicy so, I halved the cayenne pepper and that was the perfect amount of kick for me. Definitely going to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This recipe is great with smoked gouda!! My family absolutely loved this recipe! I made a few little changes. I substituted provolone for the swiss, and added a quarter cup of chopped crispy bacon. Amazing "comfort food" recipe!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States