Shannon's Smoky Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Delicious - served it with fried chicken and fresh steamed spinach. I put the cayenne in with the roux (instead of in the bread crumb/parmesan topping). And, I added a little dried parsley to the crumb topping for color. I used whole wheat penne instead of elbow macaroni. I have a feeling the leftovers will freeze well. Great receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
My macaroni and cheese came out just like your picture. It wasn't as creamy as I usually like macaroni and cheese, but it was still good. I will definitely make again and maybe not use as much pasta. That could have been the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This is amazing! Between the smoked gouda and the panko breadcrumbs with paprika... Woah. The second time I made it I used pipette pasta because there were no elbows and it was even better! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krwn108

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was really good!! It was my first time to make homemade mac and cheese, and I thought it was pretty easy. I was a little confused on how thick to make to milk, butter, and flour roux....I just stirred it until it was thick little buttermilk and it worked perfect. I also added a little lemon juice to my shredded cheeses, so the sauce would not be string. I also took the pan off the heat before I added the cheese to the mixture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
The crumb topping is a bit much, but it is a decent mac n cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hobart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Best mac and cheese ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Made it for the first time. Very delicious. Was a hit with everyone. Replaced parmesan with asiago and used more bread crumbs (panko). Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turtle
Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I'm not a macaroni and cheese fan but I had a lot of leftover smoked gouda so decided to give this a try. I didn't use as much cheese as the recipe called for and used whole wheat penne instead of elbow but it was great. I also didn't have enough parmesan for both the sauce and the crust so I used McCormick Parmesan Herb seasoning with panko bread crumbs and it was great. I actually forgot the olive oil and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is seriously The Best Mac & Cheese I have ever had! The flavors in it are incredible and it is so creamy. This is the second time I've made it and it was better this time. I think because the first time (which was just a couple weeks ago) I had to make it for a school function and needed to serve 12 so the measurements (through Allrecipes) didn't work right. But, tonight it was just perfect. Everyone had seconds. Thanks for such a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Very tasty....I added some more pepper flakes to kick it up a bit.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pittstlrfan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States