Shannon's Smoky Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
this is great!! I make mac and cheese this way but only with chedder. Try adding a cut up ham steak it is yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beaner4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Sure beats the store bought stuff from a box. I thought this was a keeper and reheated well for lunch the next day. I, like another reviewer suggested, will try this with some bacon bits the next go around. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine, Colorado, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I was so excited to try this as mac and cheese is one of my favorite things to eat. Add smoked gouda (my fav cheese) and I'm sold! Sadly, this fell short for me. The gouda overpowered everything else. I may try again, but cut back on the gouda and add more of the others. I followed everything exactly except I added a couple shakes of hot sauce instead of the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This is not diet friendly but who says Mac and Cheese of any kind should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivian Evans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lumby, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Delicious - served it with fried chicken and fresh steamed spinach. I put the cayenne in with the roux (instead of in the bread crumb/parmesan topping). And, I added a little dried parsley to the crumb topping for color. I used whole wheat penne instead of elbow macaroni. I have a feeling the leftovers will freeze well. Great receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
My macaroni and cheese came out just like your picture. It wasn't as creamy as I usually like macaroni and cheese, but it was still good. I will definitely make again and maybe not use as much pasta. That could have been the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This is amazing! Between the smoked gouda and the panko breadcrumbs with paprika... Woah. The second time I made it I used pipette pasta because there were no elbows and it was even better! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krwn108

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was really good!! It was my first time to make homemade mac and cheese, and I thought it was pretty easy. I was a little confused on how thick to make to milk, butter, and flour roux....I just stirred it until it was thick little buttermilk and it worked perfect. I also added a little lemon juice to my shredded cheeses, so the sauce would not be string. I also took the pan off the heat before I added the cheese to the mixture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
The crumb topping is a bit much, but it is a decent mac n cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hobart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Best mac and cheese ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States