Shannon's Lower Fat Chile Relleno Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jen Pahl
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This turned out really well. I would recommend using poblano peppers and also seasoning the chicken with salt and pepper. Oh yeah, I had the pan foiled for 45 minutes and uncovered for 10. Real good and real easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This was a great recipe to start with. I made a few changes and will definitely make it again! I used poblano peppers and stuffed them with tomatoes with chilies, onions, garlic fresh basil, oregano, and cilantro, and mozzarella cheese. I used bread crumbs instead of corn meal and put remaining stuffing on the top of the chicken breasts. Paired it with a spicy cucumber salad. Good the 1st night, but even better as left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clear Lake, Iowa, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I found these rather bland. I love chile relleno, but the main flavour that I found coming through with this dish was just plain chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Very good. Had a lot of flavor. I made one change to this recipe....I am not a big fan of cornmeal so I used flour instead. Came out great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I couldn't find chile peppers so substituted with another spicy pepper my store had, and pepper jack cheese. Couldn't get the chicken as closed as I would have liked, so most of the cheese ended up in the dish but it got scooped on top so all was not lost. The cornmeal made it a bit dry, but still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Used shredded cheese and crushed up dorritos instead of cornmeal. Turned out pretty good, a great way to jaz up chicken breasts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
Next time I make this I will top with some sort of creamy red Mexican sauce. (I'm thinking Red Enchilada Sauce by Sara on this website) The cornmeal really dries out the chicken, but is tasty, so it just needs a bit of moisture. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
I followed the recipe to a t. The cheese oozed out, and therefore was NOT in the chicken, and the chicken was very dry. Not one of my favorites, sorry..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASHERBORRADAILE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2001
This recipe is good. After interpreting the ingredients, (they are vague and don't match the directions) this recipe is an excellent idea. I cut the pounded chicken breasts in half, and used pepper-jack cheese. The result was a bit spicy, but it is rather bland. Next time I make it I will spice up the cornmeal with chili powder and cumin. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Duck Fat Steak Fries

Duck fat is the key to incredibly crisp baked steak fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States