Shaker Pork Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Excellent sandwiches!! I've made a few different pulled pork recipes, but this was by far my favorite! I cooked the pork in my crock pot and then prepared the sauce on the stove, as another review suggested. The pork was so tender I just put my spatula into it and it shredded itself! The sauce has a little tang and it is so good! I was hesitent because of the vinegar, as we do NOT like Carolina style barbeque. But this was not too strong and had a great mix of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
I loved this recipe. I adapted it to the crockpot, making the sauce on the stove, then shredding the pork and tossing all of it back into the crockpot for an hour or two. You can bet I will be making this throughout the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I made 8 pounds of this for a family reunion. Great recipe with excellent directions. Made this the day before, and then kept the shredded pork warm in a crock pot the day of the event. It reheated beautifully. Did serve with Dreamland BBQ sauce on the side for those that wanted more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Wow, this recipe rocked! Made it for a tailgate party that I hosted, it all went and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Liz
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I made a double batch of this for our housewarming party and everyone raved about this pork. Since then, my partner has requested that I make this on a couple of occasions. I pair this with a spicy, vinegar-y slaw made with cabbage, sweet peppers, onions, and carrots. Putting the slaw on top of the pork really makes an amazing sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I cooked my pork in the crockpot the day before, like many other reviewers. I found that I needed to make a batch and a half of the sauce to give me the right meat:sauce ratio for my tastes. Delicious tasting sauce, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
My favorite pulled pork recipe! I have done it a couple different ways--tonight I put 2 pork loins in the oven--way quicker and simpler than a bone-in pork roast--and then I sliced it up when done and put it in the food processor to shred it. I then put it in the crockpot with the sauce. If you don't have time for it to be fall-off-the-bone done, this is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
My husband loves pulled pork sandwiches so for his birthday I made this recipe. He said it was the best pork sandwich he's ever had. Everyone else loved it too. I used 12 pounds of meat cooking it one day, shredding it before I refrigerated it. The next day I five timesed the sauce recipe cooking it on the stove before putting everything into two crockpots for eight hours on low. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I made this following the recipe exactly and LOVED them! I did however need to thicken up the sauce with a touch extra cornstarch I believe this was because I had less pork. Overall we loved it and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELEMENT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This is delicious and versatile (tried it with chicken meat and also awesome!), but for the love of Pete, get some decent rolls and not hamburger buns! Why ruin a great recipe with crummy old hamburger buns??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States