Shaker Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I did the Martha Stewart version of this and it was perfect. The difference was 4 lemons and 6 eggs. It's important to slice the lemons very thin and make sure that the seeds are removed. Any of the tough veins in the lemon should also be removed. It is a very good pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Otsego, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I recently discovered this pie and LOVE It, but I feel this recipe needs a little tweaking/clarification. The lemons do need to be see-through Paper Thin or the texture will be chunky and the taste too bitter. I usually let them macerate in the sugar for a full 24 hours on the counter, at this point the pith turns almost clear, instead of an opaque white. Also I stir in 1-3 T (depending on how juicy the lemons are) of flour into the mixture before baking to help it from being so runny. It's not a lemon pie for the faint of heart, it's actually reminiscent of a very tart lemon marmalade in a pie crust, but for those who love citrus...Oooh is it wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
My mother has this recipe in a huge, weathered leatherbound cookbook that's been in our family for generations. She once served it at a dinner party she hosted; a week later she received a package in the mail, containing a solid silver pie server, and a note which read: "For the best lemon pie I've ever had!" It was from a guest whom she barely knew. Our version is a little different; it uses three lemons which must be peeled and the whites removed. It is slightly more laborious, but it doesn't have to sit overnight; one can simply mix the ingredients and pop it in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
All in all, this is an old, classic Shaker recipe... perhaps an acquired taste (given the texture/consistency), but most definitely an excellent pie. You may want to try using 3 lemons, and slice them paper-thin using a mandoline (rather than attempting to slice with a knife). Can adjust the thickness down with the mandoline. If the lemons are sliced too thick, there's a bitter aftertaste associated with the lemon rind; if sliced thinly enough, the taste is perfectly tart...and a nice balance with the sweetness of the sugar. Also, try adding a pinch of salt and a teaspoon of vanilla to the wet ingredients. Also, MUCH, MUCH better by leaving the sliced lemons/sugar mixture to marinate overnight (stirring occasionally)...rather than just a couple of hours; greatly improves the flavor. Brush the top of the pie crust with a bit of beaten egg...will make the crust more golden-colored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
I thought this pie was a bit too sweet when made using the exact recipe. Also would have preferred it a bit more tart. My husband did not care for the texture and neither did I. If I made this again, it would definitely require a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
fantastic! this is my dad's favorite, and tastes just like the "real thing" (that i hated when i was little(r)). its very simple to make, too. i think i usually use 3 lemons, and a little less sugar b/c we like it more tart...slicing wasn't impossible, but i bought a mandoline for the slicing soon after my first one :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by etroskipay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
I found this very bitter the lemons must be sliced with some sort of slicing maching it is nearly imposible to get the right thickness just using a knife. When left over night the lemons became very watery and did evaporate after the pie was baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
I have made the shaker lemon pie many times for my children when they were growing up. They thought it was greatest because of the rind. It is tender, chewy, and delicious. It is a change from the pudding type lemon pie. Thank you for having it listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
This pie was super easy to make and tasted wonderful. I think next time I will use only the zest and juice from 3 or 4 lemons, I was not crazy about the lemon chuncks. Also I will use a 9 in deep dish pie crust, the regular crust was too small and I could not use all the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
I used 3 lemons (as suggested in a very similar recipe on this site) very finely sliced, finely shredded the zest and used half of a lemon's worth in the actual recipe, I used shortcrust pastry sheets store-bought and I let my lemon/sugar mixture sit o/night in the fridge. I love lemon but I would suggest to go with 2 smallish lemons or perhaps 1 large one (all of mine were much larger than tennis balls..). I didnt mind the texture like this - but I could still see it would be better if you put your mixture in the blender before you make your pie in my opinion. Using 3 large lemons this was extremely tangy, but would be lovely if you put a couple of scoops of vanilla ice-cream with it when you serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States