Shahi Paneer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
All three kids gave this at least a 9 out of ten stars! I need to remember to double the recipe for my family of 5. I also added at least 1/2 cup more cream as suggested by some others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This was a pretty easy recipe to follow for my first time making Indian food. It was quite a bit milder than I expected & I will probably increase the spices nest time. I think it would have benefited from more cooking time as well. I used fresh pureed tomatoes and I don't think 3 - 5 minutes was enough time to cook the tomatoes before adding the paneer. Overall a pretty good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Campbell
Home Town: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This is amazing! For those of you who mentioned that your homemade paneer fell apart during cooking (make sure the paneer is refrigerated long enough), I fried my paneer cubes first which makes it hold up a bit better. I used coconut oil and fried them for just a few minutes, until they started turning nice and golden brown, and then took them out before adding the onions and garlic. I also followed the advice of others and added about a half teaspoon of garam masala and I also added about half a teaspoon of ground ginger. I used canned pureed tomatoes (about half the can) for ease. Since my favorite shahi paneer dish at a local restaurant uses cashew paste, I decided to make my own (just soaked a small handful of cashews in hot water, drained and pureed) and added it in with the sugar, water, salt and paneer. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This was my first attempt at making Indian food at home. I got impatient with my Paneer by Amibould & didn't end up frying it. It fell apart a little and didn't have that nice texture on the outside- totally my fault. I fried the (uncooked) leftovers the next day and they turned out better. Also, I think I'll chop my onions instead of slicing them because they were a bit stringy/messy to eat, like noodles. I might look for a spicier recipe or just up the spices on this one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Amazingly simple n delicious. Tip:Saute some red chillies for extra flavor with the onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Wonderful base, however, I did saute fresh, minced green chilies, clliantro & ginger with the onions & garlic. Added fresh, pureed tomatoes. Didn't have cream, so I used 2 TB sour cream, about 1/2 C of 2% milk & 1/4 C of cashew paste (thickener). I used an electric grinder on 15 cashews (from trail mix I had on hand:). You can also chop nuts fine and grind to a paste by hand. If you don't have a pestle & mortar, use a heavy duty ice cream scoop and small, sturdy bowl. I love this thickening agent which has great flavor! I had to add a little more towards the end to our liking. Also, added 1/2 tsp garam masala. Peas would be great in this recipe. Topped with fresh cilantro and served with roti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cameron, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
My whole family loves Indian food and we eat at various Indian restaurants frequently. My son finally got the courage to try his favorite dish, shahi paneer, at home. This recipe was good, but not great. After searching other similar recipes and experimenting, we found it is missing a key ingredient which gives it it's special flavor: garam masala. Near end of cooking we add 1/4 - 1/3 teaspoon of this and it is fantastic. Also, most shahi paneer recipes include a couple tablespoons of cashew paste. You can make this by soaking approx 12 cashews in boiling water, draining, then pounding into a paste. Lastly, for a creamier sauce like in restaurants, increase water or cream/milk by a cup and lightly puree prior to adding paneer. With a couple tweaks, this is a great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepybuddhabear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I liked this and so did my husband but the spice level was way too low for us - it didn't taste "authentic" enough. I did add 1 tsp garam masala at the end but next time perhaps 1 Tbs. garam masala along with a shake of cayenne would do the trick heat-wise. A delicious dish - thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabithafsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamworth, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Great flavors, everyone loved it. I added red peppers and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States