Shahi Paneer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Very tasty dish. I made this with homemade paneer (Rasgullas recipe), but you need about 2l milk to prepare paneer. I served this with rice, everyone liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was good, I definitely ate all of it within a two day span. I did give some to a friend and sister, and they LOVED IT. I made some modifications: I used a can of crushed tomatoes instead of the fresh pureed, which I found made it too tomato-y. I added more cream to balance out the thick tomatoes, and didn't have to adjust the spice balance. It was perfect. Since I didn't want to eat too much fattening dairy, I used chickpeas instead of paneer, and it was just as delicious. Will use this recipe again, only I will follow the exact directions with the tomatoes! Or...use only half a can of crushed rather than the whole darn thing at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I've been trying to find this recipe that actually tasted right. This is the closest I've come! It was excellent! I added 1/2 t. garam masala, 1/4 c. chicken broth, peas, and some crushed red pepper. Will add more crushed red pepper next time as I think it could use more spiciness to it. But so, so happy to finally find a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I added 1 c. of peas to give it more color. And I used 1/2 c. of heavy cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizlgw

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
this was great! my homemade paneer unfortunately disintegrated in it, but the flavor of the dish more than made up for it! absolutely delicious. definitely a make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Great recipe! I doubled the spices and threw in some chickpeas and frozen spinach when I added the tomatoes. Will definitely make again. Served it over brown rice and with naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megbarry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
really nice, mild flavor. we added veggies and used vegetarian chicken strips instead of paneer... very good. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Chicago, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Really great and simple. I made some minor modifications based on ingredients I had on hand (I used canned diced tomatoes mixed with regular tomatoes), but it was still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LorenHM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Positively excellent and easy as can be. Will become a "must have" when we make our Indian food feasts (every couple of weeks!) at our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie Killian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Very good. I have to say though, I had a vague idea of what went into pneer and when my unopened litre of milk started to curdle i just put it straight into a clean cloth and ended up with something a bit like cream cheese (I left out lemon or vinegar!), very creamy and not sour at all. Then i followed this recipe after searching for something to make with my paneer look-alike and ended up with a very tasty curry :) thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pietermaritzburg, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States