Shaggy's Perfect Martini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
Everybody has their own opinion on what they consider a "perfect" martini. I'm actually not that picky as long as it's not too watered-down. I would call this recipe very nearly perfect. I usually swirl my martini (in the shaker) until my fingers start to freeze, which might be a little less than 30 seconds. If there is any left in the shaker, I pour it into a spare glass, so it doesn't get too watered-down with melting ice. Lately, I've been using anchovy-stuffed olives which I find quite delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
Oooohh, Shaggy! I've always wanted to order a martini, as I like gin, but feared the disappointment. So I made your recipe, just to test drive this baby, and I'm in LOVE! Can't verify its perfection, however, since I haven't had much experience. But I gave this five stars on its own merits. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Being a retired Bartender,I was happy to see a great Martini recipe that's made with Gin! As of late, Martini's almost always have been made with vodka. I do love your Martini recipe but even more I love to change it into a gibson & add a few cocktail onions,now that's a great drink! Good job on all of your classic's. Someone really did do their homework! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I've never actually ordered a martini in a bar, but I love a strong drink and gin! This was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelso, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
To make it even more "perfect", don't shake it, just stirr slowly. Shaking infuses air into the drink and changes it's flavor (bruises the gin?). As a long time "shaker" I found could really tell the difference when this was pointed out to me years ago by a barkeeper in Manhattan. Just try it. James Bond was just plain wrong (but we knew that when he chose vodka over gin).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Love "Gin" Martinis!! This was great :) Try it with Blue Cheese Stuffed Olives...You'll love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by l.beachgurl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
It has to be dry to be good. The only change I make is that I use a lemon twist instead of the olive. Or sometimes, a pickled onion, to make a Gibson.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANVANCAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Classic cocktail! A Gin martini is the only true martini, no? This is a near perfect ratio gin to vermouth, but I do like my martini a little "dirty"...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
As near perfect as you can get.Garnish with two olives stuffed with Jalapeno.OOOOOOOO SOOOOOOOO GOOOOOOOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Perfect martini, 1 1/2 oz. Gin or vodka. 1/2 oz. sweet vermouth, 1/2 oz. dry vermouth and very important 2 dashes angostura bitters. 3 anchvy stuffed green olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vodka Martini Cocktail

See how to make a classic vodka martini.

Kahlúa Espresso Martini

See how to make an espresso martini with vodka and Kahlua.

Pumpkin Spice Martini

Festive holiday cocktail flavored with pumpkin liqueur.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States