Shaggy's Manhattan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Very Good, I use Canadian Whisky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trig

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylorville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Yum! I copied the ingredients that the Snake River Grill in Jackson, Wyoming used---Woodford Reserve and Carpano Antica==the best Manhattan we'd had before. And lo and behold---success! If you like your Manhattans strong, then this is exactly what you'd love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I multiply this recipe times 12. Put it in a bottle and let sit for 1 month. i always get raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Wyatt
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Single Barrel makes this a perfect Mahattan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Butler
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This has been my top listed American cocktail for decades. My choice of ingredients are Jim Beam Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey, Martini & Rossi Rosso Vermouth, Angostura Aromatic Bitters, and a large, stemmed Maraschino cherry. My method of choice to build this mythical drink is to stir the contents in a metal shaker for a full minute. A glass shaker is acceptable, but for some reason it just doesn’t get the drink cold enough. Stirring produces a crystal clear and icy cold drink. Pour gently into the glass so as to avoid producing bubbles. A well-chilled stemmed glass is essential to keep it cold. Shaking taints this classy drink, it destroys its magic, its romance associated to days when elegant cars and elegantly dressed men and women occupied swank surroundings. In spite of the Great Depression, there has never been a more classy period in the 20th century than the 1930‘s. Follow the recipe exactly and you have a concoction that, on your death bed, will be your final request for remembrance of a life well lived.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I like mine stiffer shake 5-10 seconds. Also chill martini glass with ice and water before serving. Makers Mark is my favorite whiskey for Manhattens
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
When made with Red Stag by Jim Beam...PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I use bitters also, a classic manhattan made in bars. What I like is Jim Beam instead of regular bourbon, with a little cherry juice. I have also found if you like cherries with your bourbon, try Jim Beam Stag. It is so good just on the rocks. My mother in-law loves it on vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
You are right about using high-quality ingredients - Maker's Mark for bourbon and Martini vermouth (dry for me). I pour the ingredients right in the glass, which I have had chilling in the freezer all day! Got a Waterford martini glass on eBay ... ah, such a delight! It will spoil you for trying to drink a Manhattan made by anyone but your "ownself".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
The classic Manhattan should be made with bitters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Pear Manhattan Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a Manhattan with a pear vodka kick.

Make a Manhattan

See how to mix up a true American classic.

Manhattan Cocktail

See how to make a classic whiskey cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States