Shaggy's Manhattan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
That Shaggy sure knows his drinks! This cocktail is a little sweet from the vermouth, but it packs a punch with all that liquor! The cherry makes a nice presentation, but I usually leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
A classic! Don't skip the bitters - it really does add the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I like mine stiffer shake 5-10 seconds. Also chill martini glass with ice and water before serving. Makers Mark is my favorite whiskey for Manhattens
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Shaggy makes good drinks. This is a very good Manhattan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Beach, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This is the same recipe we use, though I sometimes add about 1/2 tbsp of juice from the jar of cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bo Brinkman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
WOW! My husband and I loved this...perfect ratio. We didn't change a thing, just chilled the glasses really well. Don't skip the bitters or the cherries, it adds to the great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Most bar Manhattans are much drier than this, which is a shame because the drink will taste and have a "nose" more like raw alcohol than any depth of flavor. There's a big difference in bourbons. For best flavor, use a straight aged bourbon, not a blend, which can be up to 70 percent grain neutral spirits. To get this drink in a bar, order a "sweet Manhattan" with a straight bourbon. And yes, a dash or two of bitters is essential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Butler
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This has been my top listed American cocktail for decades. My choice of ingredients are Jim Beam Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey, Martini & Rossi Rosso Vermouth, Angostura Aromatic Bitters, and a large, stemmed Maraschino cherry. My method of choice to build this mythical drink is to stir the contents in a metal shaker for a full minute. A glass shaker is acceptable, but for some reason it just doesn’t get the drink cold enough. Stirring produces a crystal clear and icy cold drink. Pour gently into the glass so as to avoid producing bubbles. A well-chilled stemmed glass is essential to keep it cold. Shaking taints this classy drink, it destroys its magic, its romance associated to days when elegant cars and elegantly dressed men and women occupied swank surroundings. In spite of the Great Depression, there has never been a more classy period in the 20th century than the 1930‘s. Follow the recipe exactly and you have a concoction that, on your death bed, will be your final request for remembrance of a life well lived.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
You are right about using high-quality ingredients - Maker's Mark for bourbon and Martini vermouth (dry for me). I pour the ingredients right in the glass, which I have had chilling in the freezer all day! Got a Waterford martini glass on eBay ... ah, such a delight! It will spoil you for trying to drink a Manhattan made by anyone but your "ownself".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
When made with Red Stag by Jim Beam...PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Pear Manhattan Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a Manhattan with a pear vodka kick.

Make a Manhattan

See how to mix up a true American classic.

Manhattan Cocktail

See how to make a classic whiskey cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States