Shaggy's Manhattan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
WOW! My husband and I loved this...perfect ratio. We didn't change a thing, just chilled the glasses really well. Don't skip the bitters or the cherries, it adds to the great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
That Shaggy sure knows his drinks! This cocktail is a little sweet from the vermouth, but it packs a punch with all that liquor! The cherry makes a nice presentation, but I usually leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Shaggy makes good drinks. This is a very good Manhattan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Beach, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
The classic Manhattan should be made with bitters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
You are right about using high-quality ingredients - Maker's Mark for bourbon and Martini vermouth (dry for me). I pour the ingredients right in the glass, which I have had chilling in the freezer all day! Got a Waterford martini glass on eBay ... ah, such a delight! It will spoil you for trying to drink a Manhattan made by anyone but your "ownself".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This is the same recipe we use, though I sometimes add about 1/2 tbsp of juice from the jar of cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bo Brinkman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I use bitters also, a classic manhattan made in bars. What I like is Jim Beam instead of regular bourbon, with a little cherry juice. I have also found if you like cherries with your bourbon, try Jim Beam Stag. It is so good just on the rocks. My mother in-law loves it on vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
it tastes even better with Irish whiskey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen
Home Town: Hillsdale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
A classic! Don't skip the bitters - it really does add the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
When made with Red Stag by Jim Beam...PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Pear Manhattan Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a Manhattan with a pear vodka kick.

Make a Manhattan

See how to mix up a true American classic.

Manhattan Cocktail

See how to make a classic whiskey cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States