Shaggy's Manhattan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
The classic Manhattan should be made with bitters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I cut the vermouth to 1 to 4 ratio for my taste, but the bitters is a new one on me in a Manhattan. Great! It is now part of my repertoir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Most bar Manhattans are much drier than this, which is a shame because the drink will taste and have a "nose" more like raw alcohol than any depth of flavor. There's a big difference in bourbons. For best flavor, use a straight aged bourbon, not a blend, which can be up to 70 percent grain neutral spirits. To get this drink in a bar, order a "sweet Manhattan" with a straight bourbon. And yes, a dash or two of bitters is essential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This is my all time favorite winter cocktail.....I prefer it on the rocks rather than straight up and also use bitters and a little cherry juice. I've been known to add 3 cherries....these bourbon infused delights are the perfect end to a fabulous drink. Cheers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Skowhegan, Maine, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
it tastes even better with Irish whiskey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen
Home Town: Hillsdale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This is the same recipe we use, though I sometimes add about 1/2 tbsp of juice from the jar of cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bo Brinkman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
WOW! My husband and I loved this...perfect ratio. We didn't change a thing, just chilled the glasses really well. Don't skip the bitters or the cherries, it adds to the great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Shaggy makes good drinks. This is a very good Manhattan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Beach, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
A classic! Don't skip the bitters - it really does add the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
That Shaggy sure knows his drinks! This cocktail is a little sweet from the vermouth, but it packs a punch with all that liquor! The cherry makes a nice presentation, but I usually leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Pear Manhattan Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a Manhattan with a pear vodka kick.

Make a Manhattan

See how to mix up a true American classic.

Manhattan Cocktail

See how to make a classic whiskey cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States