Shaggy's Manhattan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I cut the vermouth to 1 to 4 ratio for my taste, but the bitters is a new one on me in a Manhattan. Great! It is now part of my repertoir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Most bar Manhattans are much drier than this, which is a shame because the drink will taste and have a "nose" more like raw alcohol than any depth of flavor. There's a big difference in bourbons. For best flavor, use a straight aged bourbon, not a blend, which can be up to 70 percent grain neutral spirits. To get this drink in a bar, order a "sweet Manhattan" with a straight bourbon. And yes, a dash or two of bitters is essential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This is my all time favorite winter cocktail.....I prefer it on the rocks rather than straight up and also use bitters and a little cherry juice. I've been known to add 3 cherries....these bourbon infused delights are the perfect end to a fabulous drink. Cheers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Skowhegan, Maine, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
it tastes even better with Irish whiskey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen
Home Town: Hillsdale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This is the same recipe we use, though I sometimes add about 1/2 tbsp of juice from the jar of cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bo Brinkman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
WOW! My husband and I loved this...perfect ratio. We didn't change a thing, just chilled the glasses really well. Don't skip the bitters or the cherries, it adds to the great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Shaggy makes good drinks. This is a very good Manhattan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Beach, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
A classic! Don't skip the bitters - it really does add the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
That Shaggy sure knows his drinks! This cocktail is a little sweet from the vermouth, but it packs a punch with all that liquor! The cherry makes a nice presentation, but I usually leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Pear Manhattan Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a Manhattan with a pear vodka kick.

Make a Manhattan

See how to mix up a true American classic.

Manhattan Cocktail

See how to make a classic whiskey cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States