Shabbat Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
This is a delicious bread! I can't say how it compares to other Challah breads, as I have never had any, but it is spectacular in it's own right. I saw a show on Food Network that suggested using specialty breads for french toast, namely Challah, and I decided to try it for a ladies brunch I was hosting. They went raving mad for it!! It has been requested continuely since then, some ask for the recipe, others just want me to make it for them. I am making a batch today for another brunch tomorrow! This makes the most delicious french toast if you cut it 30 minutes early to let it dry out a little. Soak it for ten minutes a side, and after cooking in the skillet, it is thick and hearty and tasty! One last thing, this bread is especially easy to make, which is why I originally chose it. I had never baked bread before, and this turned out golden and delicious. It was simple, and fun, and makes me want to move on to more challenging bread. Thanks NUNU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
DELICIOUS cHALLAH!!!! NUNU YOUR ARE THE BEST!!!! eVERY ONE JUST LOVED IT. aNY OTHER RECIPES ? yOUR ARE eXCELLENT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PALOMENTA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Very delicious bread! The best Challah recipe I've ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
I just want all you guys to know that who ever tastes this challah, just goes NUTS So pass around this recipe so that people wont have to suffer!!!! :) and dont worry i am adding a Hershey's chocolate cake and a mocha oatmeal cake soon.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
This bread was great. I halved the recipe and made two Large loaves. Great taste and texture, the leftover bread made the most delish' bread & butter pudding. Wonderful, Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
This bread was really good. I was a little worried when it first came out of the oven because it looked nothing like challah. But as soon as everyone started eating it they loved it-my family of 5 people devoured about 1/5 of this recipe. It was awesome-would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Tasty and beautiful bread. My family loves it and if you have leftovers (rare in my house) it makes the absolute best french toast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
this is the best recipe for challah bread that I have found. I did decrease the size to 6 cups flour because I kneading the bread in my kitchenaid. I served it to my family of 9 and there was not a crumb left. They ate both loaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This was perfect. I know others have mentioned sweeter or eggier, but this was better then what I remember, and I'm from a family of brooklyn jews. thank you, this will be a friday project. it was done pretty quickly, even tho I was pannicing it wouldn't be done before sunset. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
Wonderful! This was so fast and easy, and I've never made any bread before-if I can do it anyone can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States