Shabbat Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I have been searching for a great challah recipe for years. With my daughter's Bat Mitzvah pending the search went into high gear. This was the recipe we baked for her big day. We mixed and braided the dough a week before the event. The day before I defrosted and baked the challah. It came out wonderful. People raved about it. My daughter had another thing to be proud of at her Bat Mitzvah because she was able to tell everyone there she and her mother baked the fabulous challah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This was a hit at the dinner I brought it to last night. I looked up how to do the 6 strand braid and it's really worth the trouble. Here's the link: http://youtube.com/watch?v=22p3wIHLupc I halved the recipe to make 1 braided loaf and it was huge! I think I will make 2 next time out of the halved recipe. Many Challah recipes have poppy seeds on them instead of sesame seeds, so if you have those on hand you can substitute it. This bread is really good to dip in hummus and other dips and it looks great for serving! Other than the six piece braid, you can make a wreath by 3-strand braiding, and where it connects, make a bow out of dough. It's beautiful to serve with a dip in the middle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Cons: When I scaled the recipe by half, something must have happened because the dough was a huge sticky mess. I'm not even sure how much extra flour I ended up adding just so I could try and do something with the dough, but it was a lot. That kind of annoyed me because I'm not a great baker and I like to follow the directions exactly. However, this dough was such a mess there was no way I could shape it at all if I didn't just keep throwing in more flour. The taste was good, very adequate, but not what I was hoping it would be so I will probably try other recipes to see if I have better luck. Pros: Like I said, the taste was perfectly fine and it made nice French toast. This loaf also looked amazing when I took it out of the oven which is a miracle, since the dough was still sticky enough that I had a hard time braiding it and just assumed it was going to look like a big lump.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I'm not sure what I did wrong, but this did not turn out for me, I will try another
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Maclean-Mosher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Wow! This came out like the real thing! I am not much of a baker. So, I was so surprised to see this bread come out of my oven! Absolutely beautiful in both appearance and texture. I do agree that more sugar or some honey would be nice. I like my challah just slightly sweet. This ends up being very neutral. I also have to say though that I would not classify this recipe as easy. It is a simple recipe, but kneading the dough for 10 minutes was a work out for me. It could have something to do with being 7 months pregnant, maybe I'll try the kitchenaid next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
So Easy! We loves this Challah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
Wonderful! This was so fast and easy, and I've never made any bread before-if I can do it anyone can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
this was quite good. i've been searching for a delicious challah recipe that doesn't take too long because often i don't remember until i get home from the gym - around 4. this was quite good. my browned quickly on the outside, perhaps because i didn't eggwash it. my dough was sticky, and i added a lot of extra flour though that may have been because i quarted the recipe. all in all, will make again in a pinch, however, my favorite challah recipe does top this one but it's quite time consuming. but don't let that make you skip over this recipe. i do recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangerine jellybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This was perfect. I know others have mentioned sweeter or eggier, but this was better then what I remember, and I'm from a family of brooklyn jews. thank you, this will be a friday project. it was done pretty quickly, even tho I was pannicing it wouldn't be done before sunset. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
this is the best recipe for challah bread that I have found. I did decrease the size to 6 cups flour because I kneading the bread in my kitchenaid. I served it to my family of 9 and there was not a crumb left. They ate both loaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States