Shabbat Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Awesome recipe, I baked this morning (half recipe),the aroma was incredible, I like the texture of the bread, soft and moist. I cut the recipe in half, is only me and my husband, but I got enough that I gave one to my in-laws and they love it! I add 3/4 cup of pure clover honey instead of sugar and substitute and reduce the water to 1 1/2 cups of low fat milk instead of the 2 cups that was call for half of the recipe and I got a very good dough to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Really great recipe! I have to add more flour than what is listed but it always comes out so good! Easy and delicious! I've passed the recipe on to so many people and all of them absolutely love it. I add chocolate chips, sometimes cinnamon/raisin, and for a dinner loaf, I add herbs... rosemary, basil. I make 4 loaves with this recipe and they can all be a different flavor! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This was my first time making bread. This is a very easy to follow recipe. Oh, and it is DELICIOUS! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Apparently egg breads are the way for me to go. Anytime a bread recipe turns out for me the first AND second times, and tastes so good- gotta get a high score. Also pushing this one over the top is the easy preparation. I divided this recipe by 6 in order to get a great recipe for a loaf for 2, myself and my spouse. Wonderful- just as directed. Well, I did use poppy seeds instead of sesame, but that's all variable w/o affecting the performance of the functional recipe). This will be a permanent addition to our recipe box. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe. I use it all the time. The bread is soft and moist on the inside and crusty on the outside. The dough rises very quickly which is great. I have substituted the All-Purpose Flour with Hi-Gluten Bread Flour and the results are amazing. If you use Hi-Gluten Bread Flour you have to bake the bread at 375 F or it will get too dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I hereby declare this a 5-star recipe. I completely committed to this recipe without adding or changing anything and ended up with two ENORMOUS, golden loaves that were soft and dense. I can't wait to try it out for French toast! I agree with other reviewers, it isn't sweet but honestly, it's "just right." As a novice baker, this recipe was easy and provided great results. And don't be afraid of the quantity. I didn't halve it but wasn't unmanageable .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Best challah I've ever made! I cut this recipe in half so it's more manageable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I will look no further for a Challah recipe. This one is perfect. This bread has wonderful flavor and a tender, moist but light texture. Save any bread that might be left, toast bread cubes in the oven on a baking sheet and use for stuffing and bread pudding. Just fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I halved this recipe and created 2 bakery quality large loaves. My family gve RAVE reviews! (I personally ate it for dinner and breakfast- huge chunks!) Will be making full recipe for Thanksgiving feast, and probably multiple batches to give as holiday gifts! (Will be pairing with my Cinnimon Honey Butter: 1/2 cup butter, softened 1/2 cup extra fine or confectioners' sugar 1/2 cup honey 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon- mix and put in cute canning jars). Inexpensive and full of LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wallkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
WOW! This recipe is fail proof and fantastic! I have to say that in the middle of making this we ran out of flour and you need 12 cups. SO, I ran to the store came back and the yeast was bubbling on the top of the batter and I thought I ruined it, but NO! It made it better and the bread fluffed up and cooked beautifully! WOW! This is easy, wonderful and makes great Challah French toast! You cannot go wrong with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States