Shabbat Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I have had tremendous success with this recipe. It is the first Challah I ever made and is now my go to fail safe recipe. The texture and taste are both wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DCANT
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I've never had Challah bread but this one turned out not only beautiful but very tasty and good. The flavour is lightly sweet and the texture is velvety inside, soft and light. One thing that I was a little confused by was the rising time. The first rise took 1hr and the 2nd took 40 minutes. I did only 1/4 of the recipe (15 servings) and it turned out into a big loaf so I can't imagine how the big the full recipe turnos out to be. The instructions said 40 minutes but mine was done in 25-28 minutes - probably because it was smaller than intended. Bottomline - the bread was delicious and I will try the full recipe for Easter dinner. Thanks! June/2012 Update!!!! I made half the recipe as described (except for the sesame seeds). This time I let it rise for about 1 hour in the oven with the light on for some heat and it rose beautifully! t was too late that night and decided to form the bread (braid it) and then leave it rising in the fridge overnight. I covered it with saran wrap (loosely) and then placed a wet cloth on top. Bread was looking great in the morning. As an experiment I baked one of the loaves right away at 400 for 30 minutes and it turned out beautiful. The second one I let it sit and come up to room temperature before baking. I did not see a difference but the dough itself on both breads was so elastic and almost velvet like. The flavor was different, more yeasty and less sweet. It was delicious and so convenient to have fresh bread for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I did not add the vanilla, this bread was delicious. It rose beautifully and made the house smell wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This an excellent recipe. I halved the recipe also. Using it as is would make 3 challahs. Traditional Challah should not contain honey, but 7 ingredients (supposedly corresponding with the 7 days of creation). I think this recipe is excellent as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This is a FANTASTIC challah recipe. Very authentic, very moist. A couple of caveats: it is a very LARGE recipe - one batch turned out three challahs, each bigger than 2 pounds. I baked up two and tossed the third in the freezer for another time. Also, it is not very sweet. It is very comparable to a typical bakery egg challah, nice and rich with great texture, but next time I'm planning on adding a half cup more sugar or some quantity of honey instead. For those who prefer weight measurements instead of cups, I wasn't comfortable with Allrecipes' conversion of cups into grams, so I did my own calculation to use 1700g of all-purpose flour in this recipe... with fantastic results. Very sticky dough, but with a bit of flour on my hands and the table, it braided up nicely and the braids held their shape beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
THis is a great recipe, and the idea of vanilla with the glaze on top is cool. As someone experienced with Jewish law, may I please offer a correction, though: Regarding the Challah offering - THis is a praiseworthy custom in place to keep in practice for the actual "Challah" portion given to our Cohanim in the Temple of Jerusalem (going back 2,000 years and we still do it). They worked, we fed them. Here are a couple of parameters for nowadays, when the Cohanim are kind of "unemployed" in the old sense: THere is a minmum amount of flour needed for this, as follows - about 3 lbs for taking off without a blessing, and about 5 lbs to say a blessing. For the words of this blessing contact Chabad.com This can actually be done for almost any type of dough! To dispose of it, because it is considered unusable and technically not kosher, one cannot burn it where the challh is baking, but where there is nothing being cooked, such as straight over a flame on your burner or under the broiler, later. (Temporarily shut off your smoke alarm!) Alternatively, some Rabbis allow you to double-wrap the dough (which doesn't have to be a lot; can be as small as a large olive) and then throw it out. Here's my favorite part: THis is one of the 3 Mitzvas specially handed to women, and our power of prayer is very great, so, just as we can pray for our families, ill people, etc at candle lighting time for the Sabbath, we can pray when we are taking the Challah portion. It becomes very spiritual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Gorgeous, gorgeous challah....and such an agreeable dough to work with. Five stars! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
We LOVE this Challah, every year my church asks me to make it for our congregation. This is the only Challah bread recipe I will use. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mythreeboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pryor, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This came out flat and hard. I halved the recipe. I am glad I didn't make the whole thing. What a waste. I don't know why it got such rave reviews. I like the taste of the ones with honey better anyway. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Good bread, but not my kind of challah. I like mine egg-ier and sweeter. Also, I halved the recipe and had to use more than half the flour required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States