Shabbat Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I halved the recipe and still got 2 BIG 6braid loaves! My family loved it. The vanilla on the top totally made the bread. I added some cloves, cinnamon, cardomon and nutmeg. We had the bread with dinner last night and had alot left over. To keep it from going to waste, I used the rest to make french toast for dinner tonight and it made the best french toast any of us ever had. It is a nice dense bread, so you have to soak the bread in your egg mix a bit. Awesome, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cassie
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I would like to give this recipe 10 stars. I work in a synagogue and serve challah every Saturday. I made this for myself so halved all the ingredients. It made 1 huge loaf and two rolls. Absolutely scrumptious and so easy to make. Will definitely make again. Thankyou for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Love this recipe. The only thing I changed was 1/2 a cup of GOOD REAL honey in place of white sugar. Fantastic, thank you Shana Tova
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sar19

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupoaica
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This is the only Challah i have ever made or eaten... and it was fantastic! Super fluffy crumb and beautifully perfect crust. Definitely recommend you try this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiritedShannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Cork, County Cork, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I have had tremendous success with this recipe. It is the first Challah I ever made and is now my go to fail safe recipe. The texture and taste are both wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DCANT
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I've never had Challah bread but this one turned out not only beautiful but very tasty and good. The flavour is lightly sweet and the texture is velvety inside, soft and light. One thing that I was a little confused by was the rising time. The first rise took 1hr and the 2nd took 40 minutes. I did only 1/4 of the recipe (15 servings) and it turned out into a big loaf so I can't imagine how the big the full recipe turnos out to be. The instructions said 40 minutes but mine was done in 25-28 minutes - probably because it was smaller than intended. Bottomline - the bread was delicious and I will try the full recipe for Easter dinner. Thanks! June/2012 Update!!!! I made half the recipe as described (except for the sesame seeds). This time I let it rise for about 1 hour in the oven with the light on for some heat and it rose beautifully! t was too late that night and decided to form the bread (braid it) and then leave it rising in the fridge overnight. I covered it with saran wrap (loosely) and then placed a wet cloth on top. Bread was looking great in the morning. As an experiment I baked one of the loaves right away at 400 for 30 minutes and it turned out beautiful. The second one I let it sit and come up to room temperature before baking. I did not see a difference but the dough itself on both breads was so elastic and almost velvet like. The flavor was different, more yeasty and less sweet. It was delicious and so convenient to have fresh bread for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I did not add the vanilla, this bread was delicious. It rose beautifully and made the house smell wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This an excellent recipe. I halved the recipe also. Using it as is would make 3 challahs. Traditional Challah should not contain honey, but 7 ingredients (supposedly corresponding with the 7 days of creation). I think this recipe is excellent as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States