Shabbat Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This was my first time making bread. This is a very easy to follow recipe. Oh, and it is DELICIOUS! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Apparently egg breads are the way for me to go. Anytime a bread recipe turns out for me the first AND second times, and tastes so good- gotta get a high score. Also pushing this one over the top is the easy preparation. I divided this recipe by 6 in order to get a great recipe for a loaf for 2, myself and my spouse. Wonderful- just as directed. Well, I did use poppy seeds instead of sesame, but that's all variable w/o affecting the performance of the functional recipe). This will be a permanent addition to our recipe box. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe. I use it all the time. The bread is soft and moist on the inside and crusty on the outside. The dough rises very quickly which is great. I have substituted the All-Purpose Flour with Hi-Gluten Bread Flour and the results are amazing. If you use Hi-Gluten Bread Flour you have to bake the bread at 375 F or it will get too dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I hereby declare this a 5-star recipe. I completely committed to this recipe without adding or changing anything and ended up with two ENORMOUS, golden loaves that were soft and dense. I can't wait to try it out for French toast! I agree with other reviewers, it isn't sweet but honestly, it's "just right." As a novice baker, this recipe was easy and provided great results. And don't be afraid of the quantity. I didn't halve it but wasn't unmanageable .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Best challah I've ever made! I cut this recipe in half so it's more manageable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I will look no further for a Challah recipe. This one is perfect. This bread has wonderful flavor and a tender, moist but light texture. Save any bread that might be left, toast bread cubes in the oven on a baking sheet and use for stuffing and bread pudding. Just fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I halved this recipe and created 2 bakery quality large loaves. My family gve RAVE reviews! (I personally ate it for dinner and breakfast- huge chunks!) Will be making full recipe for Thanksgiving feast, and probably multiple batches to give as holiday gifts! (Will be pairing with my Cinnimon Honey Butter: 1/2 cup butter, softened 1/2 cup extra fine or confectioners' sugar 1/2 cup honey 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon- mix and put in cute canning jars). Inexpensive and full of LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wallkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
WOW! This recipe is fail proof and fantastic! I have to say that in the middle of making this we ran out of flour and you need 12 cups. SO, I ran to the store came back and the yeast was bubbling on the top of the batter and I thought I ruined it, but NO! It made it better and the bread fluffed up and cooked beautifully! WOW! This is easy, wonderful and makes great Challah French toast! You cannot go wrong with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. It never fails. I bake for a local farm market and use this recipe every week. Have made sweet raisin challah and wheat challah with simple substitutions. This year wanting to simplify a cinnamon roll recipe I decided to try this dough because of the high rise. They turned out beautiful. Have had many compliments on them. Have to watch the rise or they get to big to fit in the containers. I get four good size loaves from one recipe and 24 or more large cinnamon rolls. Thank you so much for sharing this. I have customers that come a long way for this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by becmac79
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Love this recipe. I got this large 6 braid loaf and 2 smaller round spiral loafs from a half batch... so easy to work with and throw together on a weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States