Shabbat Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
Wonderful! This was so fast and easy, and I've never made any bread before-if I can do it anyone can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
this was quite good. i've been searching for a delicious challah recipe that doesn't take too long because often i don't remember until i get home from the gym - around 4. this was quite good. my browned quickly on the outside, perhaps because i didn't eggwash it. my dough was sticky, and i added a lot of extra flour though that may have been because i quarted the recipe. all in all, will make again in a pinch, however, my favorite challah recipe does top this one but it's quite time consuming. but don't let that make you skip over this recipe. i do recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangerine jellybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This was perfect. I know others have mentioned sweeter or eggier, but this was better then what I remember, and I'm from a family of brooklyn jews. thank you, this will be a friday project. it was done pretty quickly, even tho I was pannicing it wouldn't be done before sunset. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
this is the best recipe for challah bread that I have found. I did decrease the size to 6 cups flour because I kneading the bread in my kitchenaid. I served it to my family of 9 and there was not a crumb left. They ate both loaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Tasty and beautiful bread. My family loves it and if you have leftovers (rare in my house) it makes the absolute best french toast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This was a great bread, but not as sweet as I like challah to be. I'm going to try adding more sugar and some honey next time. But it made a lot and everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sicklerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
What a beautiful Shabbat Challah. It was very easy to make, and so delicious! Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Montclair, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
This is by far the best challah bread that I've made so far. Unfortunately for me, it was not quite as sweet and eggy as the challah from my childhood that I'm desperately trying to recreate. Maybe if I add a little more sugar/honey and another egg it will be perfect. It was quite good however, and I recommend it wholeheartedly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gretna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Very tasty bread, but it came out too dense to be "real" challah. But good for everyday bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
This bread was really good. I was a little worried when it first came out of the oven because it looked nothing like challah. But as soon as everyone started eating it they loved it-my family of 5 people devoured about 1/5 of this recipe. It was awesome-would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States