Shabbat Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Gorgeous, gorgeous challah....and such an agreeable dough to work with. Five stars! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
We LOVE this Challah, every year my church asks me to make it for our congregation. This is the only Challah bread recipe I will use. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mythreeboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pryor, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This came out flat and hard. I halved the recipe. I am glad I didn't make the whole thing. What a waste. I don't know why it got such rave reviews. I like the taste of the ones with honey better anyway. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Good bread, but not my kind of challah. I like mine egg-ier and sweeter. Also, I halved the recipe and had to use more than half the flour required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momofmy4crazykids
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This was really good, the directions were great and easy to follow. The bread turned out beautiful, thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This is the first time I have made Challah and this recipe was amazing. My husband says it is the best challah he has ever eaten. I will definitely be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I used 6 cups whole wheat flour and six cups white flour and the result was still great. I was worried the texture might suffer but it was still dense (but not too dense) moist and delicious. I ended up making 5 challah loaves and 7 challah buns, which means I've got enough to last me for a good few weeks! I froze them right after they cooled but next time might try freezing them after they're braided, before they rise the second time. That way I can have really fresh challah on demand each shabbos. I also threw in some chocolate chips to a couple loaves/buns, and cinnamon sugar into a few others. They all turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cima
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Im no great cooker...but this recipe was great!!!!!! easy and very tasty. Thanksss And my challa looks wonderfull...just think need wait grow a few more before put in the oven. (maybe next time will put in the sun for help)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cima

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This was good but did not taste like challah to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This was the first Challah recipe I've tried and it couldn't be easier for a novice baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States