Sfingi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
They were good. I've never used ricotta cheese, but my husband made gluten free ravoli and didn't use it up. Definitely new for us but very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roosevelt, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
loved them and so did my whole family !! made them for Christmas. were a tradition when i was younger. everyone raved about them. i did add a sprinkle of cinnamon to the batter and served them w/ a cinnamon sugar coating rather than honey and powdered sugar!! will definitely make again !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
loved the recipe, but altered it a bit. first, i used a cast iron skillet on an electric stove, and high heat was far too hot. medium heat for the oil was just right. the first batch was black. also, rather than drizzling with honey, i used honey butter as a spread/dip. i will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I agree ....... The outside burns and the inside is not cooked. I have never used ricotta in this recipe before and I think that is what makes these gooey inside. Not a fan of this recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Very good, my husband liked it even better than the funnel cake recipe and he loved those... I find it pretty easy to dump the batter in the oil with two teaspoons: fill one up and with the second push that content off with the second spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Good luck on getting these cooked all the way. Burnt on the outside and raw on the inside. In the trash. Perhaps I will try again without the ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
These were unbelievably good! They were so light and fluffy. I didn't alter the recipe at all. Though I did follow the recommendation of using the ziplock bag instead of a spoon to drop them in the oil and that worked like a charm. Like a lot of others, I only made this to use up some ricotta cheese that I had left over. Because of this recipe, I will now be buying ricotta just to make these!!! The only complaint that I have is that I ate so many, I almost made myself sick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Kids LOVED them, like other reviews they ate the whole bunch still warm, and I have a PICKY 7yo who loved them too. I used a deep fryer , worked ok but stuck to the basket sometimes. Next time I'll try using the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Didn't know what to expect, but this reminded me of funnel cake! It was simple, yummy, and a great way to use up ricotta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I remember as a Kid my Aunt Annie used to make these and no one had a written down recipe, when I found this I just wanted to try it. These are as good if not better than my Great Aunt..... She would be proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States