Sexy Shrimp Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Loved, loved, loved this! The seasonings are classic and perfect but it was the cooking method that particularly impressed me. I generally prepare shrimp this way in a skillet on the stove top, but this was just too easy! What was really kind of cool was that I used three shrimp apiece as an appetizer for our grilled steak dinner using small gratin dishes that looked so pretty on the serving plate along with the steaks! For additional flavor and color I added chopped fresh chives from my garden and sprinkled the shrimp with paprika. I know I'll be repeating this as an easy and delicious appetizer regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
A good basic recipe, but bland. I would add lemon juice, white wine, perhaps some Dijon mustard. I had large shrimp on hand, so put in 1 more tbsp of olive oil, 1 more tbsp of butter and 1 additional garlic clove, but still needed a bit more pizzaz; I will make it again the the additions above and see if it has more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poway, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Simple and basic, also very good and easy. This is a quick fix meal with some pasta and garlic bread. Can easily change it up by adding white wine or some herbs to get more flavor. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
My first time ever making Shrimp Scampi. I made this tonight for an appetizer while my dinner was cooking. This was quick, simple and easy. The next time, I will have it as the main course but I will add some fresh parsley, white wine, broccoli, and fresh parmesan cheese, served on top of some pasta along with garlic bread and a side salad. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
5 stars because it passed my 3 major tests: is it simple/easy to prepare? Yes. Is it delicious? Yes. Do my kids love it? Yes. Toss it over some pasta, and presto you are done. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Was looking for a light lunch and this did the trick! Topped ours with Parmesan Cheese and it was perfect. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wills Point, Texas, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
We made this on the grill instead of the oven and it was a huge hit at my son's family birthday celebration (which was during Lent). Everyone, including my super picky, all Organic sister, was asking for the recipe. This is the only way we make shrimp now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNG7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Very very simple and very very tasty. I did make 2 minor modifications: I added fresh basil from my herb garden and freshly squeezed lemon juice to the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5THSISTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Very good, I thought the garlic was a bit too strong but otherwise I enjoyed the method and the taste. I added a sprinkle of panko bread crumbs mixed with some fresh parmesan cheese on the top before baking. Made a nice "crust". I'll make it again with a bit less garlic than what's called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I added more seasonings and made it 5 stars. If you don't add salt and pepper or seasoned salt and pepper, it's a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States