Sexy Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Made this today. Loved it. You're right - very good for us less-than-confident cooks because timing doesn't have to be precise. Nevertheless, it turned out perfectly. A really great lunch on a cold dreary day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virginia Greig

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
My daughter (age 29) and husband loved this stew. I prepared it pretty much according to the recipe. I did a dry run to access it's potential for being served at a dinner party and felt that it was just a little too complicated for me to serve to company. I enjoyed leftovers for lunch. My suggestion is to cut the potatoes into smaller pieces. I found that I wanted to do this with knife and fork prior to eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Great recipe. I only made 1/2 the recipe because I wasn't sure my family would like it. We loved it. I didn't have fennel so I didn't include it. I substituted red wine for white, added red onions, used Swai fish and turkey broth. The tarragon adds the perfect flavor for this soup. Will be making this again...and agin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Made this for dinner tonight. Even my 3 and 4 year old girls gobbled it down. This is excellent with some crusty french bread. Also, I didn't have a bottle of white wine open so I used vermouth instead. The color came out golden and the taste was somewhat sweater. Really great dish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Reicher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Wonderful! First time cooking with fennel and it adds such a mysterious awesome flavor in the background. All the flavors blended so nicely. What a great stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Loved it. Thanks chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Made this last night for my guy and I, WOW! SOOOO GOOD! He only eats fish (is a pescartarian) so i switched up the chicken stock for seafood stock (Swanson makes one now) I used red snapper, but am thinking shrimp, scallops, & cod might be good too! Will most definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
But for the fresh tarragon (I used dried and let it simmer a bit before I added the rock fish), I made this exactly according to the recipe and found it excellent. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Capitola, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Not that good. Two stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Very easy and delicious, I substituted fennel seed & Alaskan cod for a delicious soup, silky as promised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States