Seven-Up™ Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Poetiksistah
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I have made this cake a couple of times now, and it's always great. Had a little spare time while preparing my Thanksgiving dinner this year, and decided to make this for everyone. I'm sure they will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poetiksistah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This cake is very moist and came out perfectly. The only problem is there isn't enough flavor. The next time, I will add more vanilla and lemon to enhance the flavor. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I have been making this recipe for years! Everyone enjoys it. It is moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Seriously irritated at this recipe. And it takes a lot for me to get irritated with sweets. I followed the recipe EXACT and this came out dry and tasteless. And it just fell apart! Pieces were breaking off and it just wasn't pretty. I tried to salvage it with a lemon-lime juice glaze and that helped but not enough for me to just flip out over. Good thing my Mom's Meetup Group cancelled this morning, I would have been embarassed to serve this. It might be that I overcooked it but reading through the reviews now, I know I'm not the only person who had that issue. I'd like to try it again but I don't want to get torked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This recipe was good however not great. I thought that the cake was lacking flavor the first day when I made it. It was not as moist as I thought it would be. The second day, it tasted much better and moister. I also added the 7 up glaze on top of 1/4 c 7-up and a 1/2 c white sugar. melt on the stove until sugar is dissolved. I would deffinately make this again, but a day in advance to allow flavors to truely pull through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I made this cake 2 days ago, and it is already gone! My Fiance' and mother in law destroyed it before it even got a chance to cool! The only thing that I did differently was add 3 cups of sugar and 5 eggs. Its not listed on here, but I made a glaze to go along with it. To make the glaze, you need 1/4 cup of 7 up and a 1/2 cup sugar. Cook in a saucepan until the sugar is dissolved. While the cake is still warm, take a toothpick and punch holes through out the cake and pour the glaze over the cake. The glaze really made the cake yummy! I plan on making this cake again in the near future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This cake recipe has been in my family all my life, but we used 3 sticks of unsalted sweet cream butter, 2 cups cake flour and 1c allpurpose flour sifted together. oh and used diet sprite instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Willie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Very easy and fool proof. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
If you like a very moist pound cake that has a velvet smooth texture then you will love this pound cake. I fell in love with as well as the rest of my family. Try using cake flour (Swan Downs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
My kids and friends Love this cake. It is so very moist. I was a little scared that i had to use crisco also but this ios the best seven-up recipe i ever used. I did cheat a little by adding 1 tbsp of vanilla instead of tsp. Adds more flovour. MMMMMMM good i say!! Thanks Sue for great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States