Seven-Up™ Mud, Fruit Slide Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Happy 7-7-07! Made a '7-up' cake for breakfast at 7am, hahaha, right? Wish I could give it 7 stars! This was good! I would like to try a different cake mix with it---maybe chocolate? My son liked the chocolate chips in it and the yellow cake mix hid the pineapple, so maybe chocolate wouldn't work. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I wasn't sure if my husband would like a cake without frosting, but he loved it! It is a moist cake with interesting combination of flavors. A five star for the taste and being so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
If I did this right, (I'm blind and using a screen reader) I've rated this recipe five stars. I made this cake for a memorial service that was held at my church. It went together in a snap. It was so moist, it didn't need a glaze. I followed the directions exactly, and got a delicious cake I don't feel needs any modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I think this is a very refreshing cake. No icing needed. I did modify just because I needed to use what I had on hand. I used Diet 7 Up and I think it was plenty sweet. I also used a pineapple upside down cake mix because I did not have a yellow cake mix. I will make this again and probably omit the choc. chips next time. They are definitely not needed. This would be great paired with some fresh bananas and strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
My daughter and I just made this, and it's absolutely fantastic! We saved the pineapple juice and added it to the icing we made to top it off. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Hanau, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Great and super duper easy! My kids at it alllll! You really can't taste the pineapple which made them happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Wow, this came together so easy and was really moist! I put in extra pineapple for more flavor which helped because the pineapple flavor is very light (might try a pineapple cake mix next time). It does seem to be crumbly while still being moist(?) and that makes it a little tough to get out of the pan but well worth the effort. I made a version of the pineapple party topping from this site to frost-Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogdensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I made this with Sprite. Added coconut, sliced almonds and marachino cherries. Loved the taste and so easy. BUT, sooo crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I had to make some changes to this recipe. First, I didn't have yellow cake mix so I used white. Second, I used almost an entire can of crushed pineapple w/juice and didn't add the oil. I totally forgot to add in the allspice. Overall it came out kind of like a moist chocolate chip cookie that was pineapple flavored. It was good, but I think next time I'd leave out the chocolate chips and instead add in marachino cherries and coconut and some walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Nice cake but very crumbly. Mine was difficult to cutinto nice portions because it was falling apart. Presentation was so great but the cake tasted super! I omitted chocolate and added shredded coconut and maraschino cherries instead. Very tasty combination of flavors. My family really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States