Seven-Up™ Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This is a perennial favorite in my family. In 1989, I won Best of Show at our county fair with this cake--but there was a major difference: our recipe called for 2 T of lemon extract. After two disastrous attempts at getting the lemon cake out of the bundt pan, I had enough ingredients left for one more cake, but we were out of lemon. So I used almond extract. Good enough to beat even the fancy cakes at the fair! I agree with other posters that creaming the butter and sugar for the full 20 minutes is imperative, as well as beating each egg in thoroughly. However, it will be fluffier if you fold the 7-Up in last as the recipe states (rather than partly with the flour as some have suggested). It can only be truly folded in if it's the last ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I need some help. I followed the recipe exactly.I even mixed it for 20 minutes as the recipe calls for, but when I took it out of the oven I noticed it was very heavy and had a slight a eggy taste. It seems to me that every time I use recipes that call for all purpose flour instead of cake flour my cakes check out very heavy. Could someone give me some advice on what I'm doing wrong before I attempt this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lamanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Wonderful cake! I made it for thanksgiving and all of my guests really enjoyed it. I made 4 practice cakes in the week leading up to thanksgiving and I had a lot of problems with the baking time. I think it must be my oven, but the cake needed 2 hours in the oven! I followed the recipe exactly, so it must just be my oven. It was frustrating, but worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
My grandmother used her Sunbeam and turned it on low to add the flour and liquid, just until incorporated. I HATE HATE HATE that 7-up changed their recipe it totally changed the flavor of the cake. I've had to search for a pop that taste like old 7-up but so far Kroger Lemon Lime is closest to the old 7-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Littleton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Trenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I really enjoyed making this cake and watching family and friends devour it. Is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Great receipe. I followed it exactly as written with exception of beating the butter and sugar for 20 minutes. I only did it for about 5 minutes. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Mix for 20 mins for sure. Makes cake light and fluffy. Watch your cook time. Recipe says 60mins. Your over might cook faster. Don't want a dried out cake. Other than that....FABULOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
There was no salt mentioned in the recipe so didn't put any in. The cake tastes very flat. Couldn't figure out what was wrong until I read over the recipe. Was very disappointed since my entire family was looking foward to tasting it before I made another one for our fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I get a lot of requests for this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States