Seven-Up™ Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
What I do wrong? My cake look pretty but tasted horrible. After adding in the flour I tasted the batter and it tasted awful. What did i do wrong I didn't sift the flour is that the problem? it all baked well, but the taste was nasty with a thick texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I baked this cake as mini bundts, since my oven will not bake the whole bundt through. This recipe was wonderfull as mini cakes. I did add 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp lemon extracts. I will make sure this goes in my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
the best cake ever. I have made this several times and ppl always love it. Taste EXCTLY like the 7up cake my mom used to pay $35 to some lady to make...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This is a very good recipe. I was initially surprised by another review that talked about the 'egginess,' but I was even more surprised that I actually AGREE. Next time I'll try 4 eggs and see what happens. I didn't think I'd actually cream the butter/sugar for 20 minutes, but I did. That may have been because my butter was still somewhat cold (and the recipe doesn't specify softened butter - perhaps intentionally). It took the full 20 minutes for the mixture to stop looking like packed sand and to no longer stick to the sides (using a stand mixer). As for the cake sticking to the pan, I'm a BIG fan of Baker's Joy spray (flour and oil in a can). Mine literally slipped out of the bundt pan with a perfectly uniform golden brown crust. UPDATE: I made this and froze it for a couple days. It tasted WAY better after-the-fact. The egg flavor could be a result of the cake still being warm from the oven. I'll still try 4 eggs next time as an experiment. Absolutely let the cake completely cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPOOKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
First time making 7up cake and it was delectable it didnt last a whole day in my house, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jcooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Wonderful cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
ALL I CAN SAY IS AWESOME...NEVER HAD ANY COMPLAINTS, ONLY COMPLIMENTS. MY FAMILY LOVE MY FAMOUS 7UP CAKE. I'VE BEEN BAKING 7UP CAKES FOR EVERY HOLIDAY...IT'S MY SPECIALTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Incredible! Made no changes and everyone loves it. Have brought it for bake sales and everyone asks me for the recipe. I top it off with some powdered sugar and fresh strawberries. Couldn't thank you enough for sharing this recipe!! I'd give it 10/10 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Made this for my husband and he loves it!!! He says to rate it a five, so that's what I am going to do. I made some minor additions such as putting a glaze on it and using cake flour, but it still was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This is the first cake I let my 10 year old son Jared make. It was awesome especially with the glaze. The only change I made was I did 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp of lemon juice. We just finished making it a few hours ago and I'm sure it'll be gone before Wednesday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States