Seven-Up™ Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
i followed this recipe to the t, except for mixing it for 20 mins, i only could do it for 10. i was very hesitant that this recipe didnt call for any baking soda/or powder, that was strange to me. (even with the soda added) it took exactly 75 mins, the outside was starting to overcook, i used a bundt, and the inside was just barely done. it was soo heavy and dense you would thought it was a jello cake. i like pudding cakes, but not one so thick u cant even poke your finger through it. and with 3 cups of sugar, i thought itd be sweeter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Loved this cake. I helped my child make this and it came out greeeaaaattt! We will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cinnamini

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Love it ... Turned out Delicious! Thank YOU for putting up this recipe as I was craving it being in Japan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I made this last week. There was way to much batter and it over flowed all over my oven. Also I did not care for the texture or flavor of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
The cake is wonderful. I did use 2 teaspoons of Almond Extract because my daughter asked me to make it with almond, it is fabulous. One Very important question is, should cake come out of pan right away, or cool in pan? I have read many reviews, and variations, no one mentions this, other than it did stick to someone pan. I heavily crisco'd my bundt pan and it stuck too. Love the cake tho, thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Made this cake twice. First with hand mixer (came out dry). Second time used my stand mixer...AMAZING! This is what my grandmom's 7-Up cake used to taste like. Moist with a sweet "crust" on the outside. No glaze needed. Used 2tsp lemon extract and 1tsp vanilla extract. So excited!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonchyldcrab82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I wanted to bake something so i did this and it turned out pretty good. Instead of 7-up, I used Mountain Dew. For those DEW drinkers, it was YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This is the exact recipe that we have used for 30 plus years. I have always followed it eactly and it turns out perfect every time. As my mom was in a high altitude area, she would bake this cake when she came for a visit. It is plenty sweet & a quick dusting with powdered sugar is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Reid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This cake is a winner! I've been making it for years. Followed the recipe exactly except I added 2 tsp vanilla and 2 tsp lemon extract. Beautiful cake that always gets rave reviews. A sugar glaze is an excellent choice instead of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I made this for the first time. I am excited to see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States