Seven-Up® Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I tried this cake and I wasn't all that excited about it. I think I'll make it again sometime and increase the lemon extract alot! It also seemed VERY sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I list my original z7 up cake recipe and tried this one since it was pretty close to my original. It turned out well. I did not cream the butter and sugar for 20 minutes more like 5 to 8 mins. The cake was moist. It took 70 minutes to bake. I have an old school cast iron bundt pan and used bakers joy....the cake came out of the pan easily. I will bake this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is one of the best pound cakes you’ll find. In fact I just took one out of the oven, for Christmas day. This is the exact recipe I’ve been using for over 30 years. It’s an easy 1 bowl recipe that delivers a wonderful cake, with a crunchy crust (which my family has been known to fight over… lol) and moist interior. I don’t use lemon extract, instead I use an entire 1 ounce bottle of Rum extract. Bring your ingredients to room temperature and creaming the butter and sugar for 8-10 minutes is sufficient; I use a stand mixer on medium. I add the flour to the creamed mixture first, only mixing until incorporated; and then fold in the 7-up with a spatula. Preheat your oven and be sure your Bundt pan holds at least 12 cups, or your cake could ooze over the sides. Grease (not oil) and flour your pan very well; this bugger likes to stick. Let cool in the pan 10 minutes; and then invert onto a wire rack to cool completely. The cake is plenty sweet enough, so a simple dusting of powdered sugar is all it needs, but I wouldn’t turn my nose up to sweetened, fresh berries and whipped cream for a delightful summer dessert. My family and friends beg for this cake… it’s that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This is a perennial favorite in my family. In 1989, I won Best of Show at our county fair with this cake--but there was a major difference: our recipe called for 2 T of lemon extract. After two disastrous attempts at getting the lemon cake out of the bundt pan, I had enough ingredients left for one more cake, but we were out of lemon. So I used almond extract. Good enough to beat even the fancy cakes at the fair! I agree with other posters that creaming the butter and sugar for the full 20 minutes is imperative, as well as beating each egg in thoroughly. However, it will be fluffier if you fold the 7-Up in last as the recipe states (rather than partly with the flour as some have suggested). It can only be truly folded in if it's the last ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I need some help. I followed the recipe exactly.I even mixed it for 20 minutes as the recipe calls for, but when I took it out of the oven I noticed it was very heavy and had a slight a eggy taste. It seems to me that every time I use recipes that call for all purpose flour instead of cake flour my cakes check out very heavy. Could someone give me some advice on what I'm doing wrong before I attempt this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lamanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Wonderful cake! I made it for thanksgiving and all of my guests really enjoyed it. I made 4 practice cakes in the week leading up to thanksgiving and I had a lot of problems with the baking time. I think it must be my oven, but the cake needed 2 hours in the oven! I followed the recipe exactly, so it must just be my oven. It was frustrating, but worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
My grandmother used her Sunbeam and turned it on low to add the flour and liquid, just until incorporated. I HATE HATE HATE that 7-up changed their recipe it totally changed the flavor of the cake. I've had to search for a pop that taste like old 7-up but so far Kroger Lemon Lime is closest to the old 7-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Littleton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Trenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I really enjoyed making this cake and watching family and friends devour it. Is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Great receipe. I followed it exactly as written with exception of beating the butter and sugar for 20 minutes. I only did it for about 5 minutes. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States