Seven Spiced Shark Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This was good, but definitely too salty. But it's easy enough to reduce the salt next time. I cut the recipe in 1/2 and it still made way too much. Didn't need much to cover the fish, it was so thick I had to scrape some of it off so as not to overpower it. Hubby thought it was pretty good; he likes things spicy. But this one just wasn't to my liking for fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I tried it myself and and had to make an account on this site to point out how bad this recipe was. I should've known better than to add 2 TABLESPOONS of garlic salt in addition to the salt from the soy sauce. The meat came out far too salty for any sane humans' tastes. In hindsight, 2 tablespoons of actual garlic would've worked much better than 2 tablespoons of garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Flavor too strong. Can't taste the fish. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
great recipe! this is my second time making it, the first time i let it marinade a little too long and couldnt taste the shark. def adhere to the 1/2 hour marinade. i added a little fish sauce to the recipe to add a little sweetness to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Shark often has an aftertaste. To make it milder, soak it in milk for at least an hour (longer is better) and then give it a rinse. That being said, I cut the soy sauce in half as the marinade seemed very strong and likely to overpower the taste of the shark completely. I found it just right and not overly salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This marinade is horrible. The rub is too overwhelming. Noone liked it. My husband washed off the rub paste. Would not recommend it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefFazer
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I was very happy with the results of this recipe. I had never cooked (or eaten shark before so I had no idea where to start. I made this for my boyfriend's family and everyone cleaned their plate. (Even mom who doesn't like fish!) I did do a few things differently. I soaked the steaks in milk over night prior to cooking and I grilled it instead of baking it. The milk soak was recommended by our charter boat guide in order to reduce the strong gamey flavor, so that's just a personal preference. Lastly, next time I make this I think I will tone down the Chili powder a bit. Although 2x2x2x2x2 is awfully easy to remember I found the chili to be a tad over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefFazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
My husband and I both loved this recipe! I left out the chili powder so my 3-year old could eat it and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
YUM!!! I only made some minor adjustments to the recipe. I halved the worcestershire and soy sauce and added in a 1/4 cup of teriyaki sauce. Then I halved the spices, too, since I was only using 2 shark steaks instead of 3, and the rub looked REALLY thick with even half the spice. Still, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I loved it - Perfect for me, although my girlfriend said it was a little overpowering for her. This might sound weird, but if you put the steak on a potato roll, with some lettuce and tomato, and eat it as a sandwich, it is DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States