Seven-Minute Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This recipe is excellent. But, I have made it simple and you don't microwave. Just take all of the ingredients put them in the blender for one minute and then place into a saucepan on medium heat stirring until thickened! I added two squares of shaved dark chocolate and it was chocolate pudding. The texture in this pudding is superb! Has lots of versatility also (banana, strawberry, butterscotch). Would be excellent to fill cakes with! Thank you very much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynCocks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Good recipe, but it is really not a good idea to microwave milk/dairy as the microwave alters the structure of nutrients in food. I would suggest using the stove, especially if you are going to give the pudding to your children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lublin, Lublin, Poland
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
It's VLA! Wow, looking for an easy pudding recipe I stumbled on this one and discovered it tasted exactly like vla, the dutch version of pudding! I reseached it and the recipes are very similar. Having grown up with the pre-made version of this I am delighted to be able to very easily make my own! I serve mine with cut up strawberries, fun to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ween's Cuisine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This recipe caught my eye because of the unusual cooking method, using the microwave rather than the traditional stove-top method. I was game to try it simply out of curiosity (and because I had 2 c. of milk to use before I head home tomorrow) but I unfortunately found very few reviews where the recipe was made as directed, using the microwave method. So here it is folks - I made this exactly as the recipe instructs - using the microwave - and here's how that worked for me. I think, first of all, that since microwaves vary so much in terms of wattage, the submitter (or AR) should have indicated with what wattage this recipe was prepared, so that others could adjust the cooking time accordingly. I have an 1100-watt microwave, which I think was too powerful for the time specified, but I plowed on for the express purpose of seeing just what this cooking time would do to my pudding with this wattage. It boiled rapidly and I was left with some bits of cooked egg. Sure, that was easy enough to sieve out through a wire mesh strainer, but I'd rather cook this conventionally on the stovetop where I have more control. Nevertheless, it worked. My larger concern, however, is that while the taste and consistency was fine, it left some greasy mouthfeel which I didn't care for. I would recommend reducing the butter by half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Fabulous. I NEVER make anything in the microwave but I like to try a recipe in its original form to begin with so I did. The results were perfect. I added 1.5 tablespoons of orange zest at the end with the vanilla and butter, and the second batch I did, I added 1/2 cup chocolate chips and whipped them until they were melted and fully blended. Both variations worked out very well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Strathroy, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
fantastic! this recipe is so easy and the pudding is very creamy and yummy! i tried to make another pudding recipe on this site and ended up with runny, lumpy pudding. i'm an experienced baker too so i'm not sure what i did wrong. this recipe, on the other hand, turned out perfecto! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Yum! Like a quick, easy creme brulee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This recipe was very easy to make, I really enjoyed it as did every body, although it was a little too sweet, it would probably benefit from pulling back on the sugar a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Wow. So easy and soooo much better than packaged stuff. I took one reader's suggestion of using a blender and it worked like a charm. No cornstarch lumps at all. I have also done this with splenda and it's still wonderful. This one's a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAMOM247

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Very good recipe, easy to make, and satisfying! Good home made flavor, reminds me of custard. mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States