Seven Minute Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
my mom and grandma always make this and use a plain white cake (2 8in layers) then put sliced bananas in between the layers and on top of the cake. They use this icing and it is delicious. Needs to be eaten the first day though because bananas tend to get gross looking the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This was quick and easy to make. I didn't have any grainyness. You must quickly frost your cake as this icing cools rapidly and can become unworkable! I had more than enough to frost a 9 inch layer cake. I used it to frost a coconut cake instead of my usual buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James A. Butler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
My grandma used to make us cakes as kids (45-50 yrs ago) using this frosting... we always think of her... awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TerriSteelMagnolia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Folded in just under 1 C semisweet choc. chips right after taking the frosting off the heat, then quickly frosted my cake. It made a GORGEOUS chocolate swirl pattern as the chips melted in the warm frosting. I sprinkled a few chips on the top afterwards, too. Delicious and looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
as described, makes LOTS and LOTS of frosting! I frosted 18 cupcakes and have the ability to frost about 50 more! EEK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I am making seven minute frosting in a few minutes. Before I put the mixture over the water I mix it together until blended. Then, I turn the water down and mix sometimes for only 5 or 6 minutes. I take it off the water and mix for another minute or two until I get the right consistency. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah H. Watt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Very Good Recipe. Came out perfect. Made another Coconut Cake recipe on this site and sub this for the frosting then toasted some coconut and sprinkled it on top. Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
THIS IS IT! This is the frosting from my husbands childhood memories! However, I have to almost mess it up to get what he's been looking for, which is fluffy, moist frosting with a dry outer crust. This was achieved by cooking & whipping over a simmering double boiler for 10 minutes & frosting the cooled chocolate fudge cake immediately. VERY sweet for my tastes but it was exactly what he's been looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
+++++++++++! Was made on a humid day, and turned out great and fluffy. Was even great the next day. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I made this to frost a devil's food cake and it was wonderful. You have to work fairly fast while frosting your cake as it starts to set up (crust) a bit, so be sure to smooth the sides and top the way you want them because you can't really go back and do it again after a few short minutes like you can with buttercream. It was a nice light frosting and was wonderful with the deep chocolate cake, although it could be a little less sweet. Next time I will try to add a bit less sugar and see what happens. Also, I did not have graininess the next day as some other recipes of this type have suggested. All in all this one is a keeper. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States