Seven Minute Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Folded in just under 1 C semisweet choc. chips right after taking the frosting off the heat, then quickly frosted my cake. It made a GORGEOUS chocolate swirl pattern as the chips melted in the warm frosting. I sprinkled a few chips on the top afterwards, too. Delicious and looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Makes a GENEROUS amount for filling and frosting a nine-inch cake. This frosting is yummy, but the texture is not quite like I remember it as a kid... it's more marshmallowy and gelatinous. My mum's recipe did not use corn syrup, so maybe that's why. Great with dark chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I made this frosting over the weekend, and saw other comments on other sites that address the "grainy" issue some are having. The advice given on those is...don't let the boiling water touch the bottom of the pot in which you are mixing the frosting. Keep the water to a low simmer so that the water doesn't touch the top pot. If it touches, the frosting gets grainy. Hope this helps! I simmered the water and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
my mom and grandma always make this and use a plain white cake (2 8in layers) then put sliced bananas in between the layers and on top of the cake. They use this icing and it is delicious. Needs to be eaten the first day though because bananas tend to get gross looking the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by busymommy
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I used the extra fine sugar hoping I would not have the grainy texture problem. _--Didn't work. I am guessing my problem is I didn't let the mixture sit on the top of the boiler long enough before I got in there with the mixer. (I was sorta afraid to wait too long and risk the sugar burning!!) It formed the peaks and it tasted the way my hubby remembered--it's just that darned texture thingy. The pressure to replicate his Grandma's 7 min. frosting recipe is too great...I don't know if I can bring myself to go down this road again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I love the frosting and when my children were young, I always made this frosting.However, the last two times i made the frosting the sugar did not dissolve all the way and it tasted like grains or sugar. What did I do wrong? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This is really good frosting. I made it to top an angel food cake for a birthday. My dad said it tasted just like when he was a little boy, and the kids loved it. It was a little sweet for me, and I added only 1 3/4 c sugar. The only thing about this recipe that I didn't like was that it made way too much frosting for one cake and you can't really save it for another time. I ended up throwing a lot of it away. I would make it again, but probably cut it down by 1/3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I made this to frost a devil's food cake and it was wonderful. You have to work fairly fast while frosting your cake as it starts to set up (crust) a bit, so be sure to smooth the sides and top the way you want them because you can't really go back and do it again after a few short minutes like you can with buttercream. It was a nice light frosting and was wonderful with the deep chocolate cake, although it could be a little less sweet. Next time I will try to add a bit less sugar and see what happens. Also, I did not have graininess the next day as some other recipes of this type have suggested. All in all this one is a keeper. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
+++++++++++! Was made on a humid day, and turned out great and fluffy. Was even great the next day. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States