Seven Minute Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
My grandma used to make us cakes as kids (45-50 yrs ago) using this frosting... we always think of her... awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TerriSteelMagnolia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
THIS IS IT! This is the frosting from my husbands childhood memories! However, I have to almost mess it up to get what he's been looking for, which is fluffy, moist frosting with a dry outer crust. This was achieved by cooking & whipping over a simmering double boiler for 10 minutes & frosting the cooled chocolate fudge cake immediately. VERY sweet for my tastes but it was exactly what he's been looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Very Good Recipe. Came out perfect. Made another Coconut Cake recipe on this site and sub this for the frosting then toasted some coconut and sprinkled it on top. Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This was quick and easy to make. I didn't have any grainyness. You must quickly frost your cake as this icing cools rapidly and can become unworkable! I had more than enough to frost a 9 inch layer cake. I used it to frost a coconut cake instead of my usual buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Atlantaman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I am making seven minute frosting in a few minutes. Before I put the mixture over the water I mix it together until blended. Then, I turn the water down and mix sometimes for only 5 or 6 minutes. I take it off the water and mix for another minute or two until I get the right consistency. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
as described, makes LOTS and LOTS of frosting! I frosted 18 cupcakes and have the ability to frost about 50 more! EEK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZAKIAH
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
good and easy to follow recipe. i read that many complained they had sugar granules not fully dissolved when making this frosting. my suggestion would be that, try and use fine granulated sugar. if you don't have any, just pulse some regular granulated sugar in your blender. after adding all the ingredients in a bowl, put over double boiler, let the water boil first and then lower the heat. when you put your bowl over make sure the water ISN'T ACTUALLY BOILING. you'll cook your egg whites if you do this. just make sure there are tiny bubbles at the bottom of your pan. you just need the steam to heat the eggs. now, instead of going straight with the mixer, USE A HAND WHISK FIRST and stir. This will make sure that your sugar is fully dissolved. After the sugar has dissolved, then use the HAND MIXER, and whisk at full speed for about 3-4mins. I took my bowl off the boiler after that and continued whisking until you get that nice frothy consistency and lastly add the vanilla essence. Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAKIAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gombak, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: Okayama, Okayama, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Paula Deen's recipe for this says the graininess is caused by letting boiling water splash on the underside of the bowl. You can also use cream of tartar instead of the corn syrup, which would cut down a bit on the sweetness, and the 'gelatinous' texture someone mentioned. Paula's recipe is available on the food network site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Folded in just under 1 C semisweet choc. chips right after taking the frosting off the heat, then quickly frosted my cake. It made a GORGEOUS chocolate swirl pattern as the chips melted in the warm frosting. I sprinkled a few chips on the top afterwards, too. Delicious and looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Makes a GENEROUS amount for filling and frosting a nine-inch cake. This frosting is yummy, but the texture is not quite like I remember it as a kid... it's more marshmallowy and gelatinous. My mum's recipe did not use corn syrup, so maybe that's why. Great with dark chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States