Seven Minute Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I made it exactly as written, except I whipped the icing for about 16 minutes and it never became fluffy. The taste was ok, but the texture was all wrong. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Great recipe! I love it on angel food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
To anyone making this 7-minute frosting...the weather has a lot to do with this frosting...if it is a rainy or humid day it may not form stiff peaks. Whenever I have made this frosting on a rainy or humid day it doesn't set up well and is grainy. Hopefully this will help you. This still is my favorite kind of frosting. There are several different ways to make it, however, they are all very delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
My first try wouldn't thicken, but the 2nd came out perfectly. Lesson learned: use fresh egg whites. Liquid egg whites from a carton will not work, or at least will take a whole lot longer than 7 minutes. I added some coconut extract along with the vanilla, and my coconut cake was a hit. This is definitely going into my cake arsenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Made this exactly as written. Awesome! My first time making 7 minute icing for my Dad, who has been eating it for many, many years. He actually told me it was as good as my Mom's! :) Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I could never get it to thicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I strongly agree that it takes more time to mix ,perhaps we should rename it as 14 minute icing and I think I have a solution to the grainy texture problem. I was told it was because I let the boiling water touch the bottom of my double boiler as I was mixing. I will be trying it again using less water and no rapid boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I followed another cooks suggestion to used 2 tsp of light corn syrup because I didn't have cream of tartar, other than that I followed the recipe to a "T". It came out perfectly! My friends son can't have too much sugar or it makes him sick. This was just right not overly sweet and with coconut extract - Heavenly! Only thing 7 min. may not be enough time mine was more like a 15 min. frosting before I got the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
The absolute best frosting ever! My mom LOVES this frosting, and instead of vanilla extract, I added coconut flavoring, to go with the coconut cupcakes, and it was AMAZING. Can't say enough good things about this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a7x-angel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
If yours is runny, your cream of tartar might be old! This recipe is SUPER and EASY! I know this frosting doesn't keep at room temperature and my fridge was full. Before bed I set up the whites and water in the fridge and all the dry stuff in a stainless bowl over a pot of water with the vanilla bottle and beaters out, just heated and beat it and spread it on my cake. 10 minutes after I turned on the heat, my cake was frosted. Everyone loved it. Perfect on the Black Magic cake! I was nervous because I've never seen a 7 minute recipe with water, but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States