Seven Layer Tortilla Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This was super easy and fun to make! I added green chiles, black olives, corn, and shredded up some rotisserie chicken and layered it on as I saw fit, topping each layer with cheese. I also used low fat refried beans, low fat black beans, and low fat mexican cheese to make it that much more healthy! After it came out of the oven, I put some sliced avocado and tomatoes on, and it was a hit! My boyfriend couldn't get enough (in fact writing this review makes me want to whip one up right now!!!) Give it a try tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
VERY YUMMY~PREBAKE TORTILLA'S FOR 5 MINUTES SO THEY ARE CRISPY AND NOTE SOGGY!!! AND I USED MY SPRINGFORM PAN AND STACKED THE PIE..IT KEPT ITS FORM VERY NICELY. I ALSO USED REFRIED BEANS AND FRESH COOKED CORN!!ITS A REGULAR AT OUR HOME AND FOR A SPECIAL GUEST EVERY NOW AND THEN! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
I made a few modifications. One, I added half a packet of taco seasoning to the pinto bean mixture. Second, I used refried black beans instead of the regular black beans in the mixture. Third, I added cumin to the black bean mixture for extra seasoning. Finally, I used mostly Monterrey Jack and Pepper Jack cheeses instead of most of the cheddar. This turned out pretty well with the changes, but was still a little dry. However, a little bit of salsa and sour cream on the top fixed that. I think I'll be making this again, and in the meantime try to think of some more changes to make it even better. I think I'll try to add some black olives and other vegetables to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
With a few changes as suggested by others, this recipe was delicious! I used a can of refried Pinto beans instead of the canned Pintos in the recipe, spicy salsa, chopped jalapenos in both bean mixtures, a layer of beef with taco seasoning and onions. I baked the bottom 4 tortillas a little bit beforehand to keep them from getting soggy, and baked the whole thing in a springform pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This is a FAVORITE in our house. We have one friend who asks for this dish every time that he comes over for dinner. I have found that Rosarita refried beans are the exact consistency that is created by that tedious mashing of the pinto beans, so I use them. I also add quite a bit more cilantro and a can of sliced black olives, and used extra picante sauce or a can of rotel instead of the tomatoes. I have added taco meat once when our meat-loving friend ate with us, and it turned out well. All in all, with the changes... SUPERB. Without them... okay, but kinda bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livingston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I have made my version of this recipe for years using lowfat Mexi-blend cheese,refried beans,corn,and shredded chicken breast. I spice things up and eliminate the dryness by using canned enchilada sauce on each layer and on top before covering and baking. It cooks up like stacked enchiladas! It is one of my family's favorite dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
I used larger tortillas and a springform pan, which worked really well to hold all the layers. I also used fat-free refried beans instead of the mashed pintos, a mixture of cheddar and jack cheeses, and, being a carnivore, added a layer of diced chicken breast sauteed in taco seasoning right in the middle. With some sweet corn cake, this dish made a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
What a great dish. I used low fat tortillas and fat free refried beans also added a 4 oz can of green chiles to the black bean mixture to give them a little more flavor. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
This recipe looks delicious and I plan to try it with a twist; instead of baking, making it into a salad! Replace the tortillas with crushed corn chips and add some lettuce. Yum! Nice cool summer salad, filling enough for a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
So easy-perfect meal for a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 523) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States