Seven Layer Tortilla Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was delicious! I heated the tortillas for a few minutes as suggested and substituted a can of Rotel for the tomatoes. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! I made a few changes to suit my tastes, but this is such a great recipe in and of itself! First, I reduced the amount of cheddar and replaced it with pepper jack cheese, then I added some cumin and some smoked paprika (I REALLY like the smoky flavor - if you aren't that into it, just leave out the paprika), added 1 more TBSP of cilantro, mixed 1 small can of green chilies in with the tomatoes, added some roasted red peppers (I roasted them myself, but it can be time consuming, so you can use a jar, too), and I didn't use flour tortillas. La Tortilla Factory makes some tortillas that are a corn and flour mix. They are super delicious and I find that they hold up better than anything else in recipes that have a lot of moisture. They are small, so they'll overlap if you don't trim the centers - also a little time consuming, but SO worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This recipe is great -- entire family loved it. Super quick to assemble... but definitely needs the entire 40 minutes of baking time. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montrod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is one of my families favorites. One modification I make is to use 1 lb ground beef mixed with 4 T taco seasoning instead of the beans. I also add a small can of sliced black olives to the mixture. In addition I use taco cheese between the tortilla and meat layers. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This was really good and we used lo-fat cheese and just half as much to help reduce the calories and fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irish Pixie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sanquhar, Dumfriesshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This was so easy and delicious. Followed the directions and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This was a good dish. I feel it might have been a bit bland had I not put cumin and onions into the mix, and I will probably be slightly baking the tortillas before I layer them because mine ended up very soggy. Overall, I liked the dish a lot, and I hope to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This recipe is surprisingly delicious! I made a few substitions since I didn't have all the ingredients on hand. I used one can of fat free refried beans instead of pinto beans, canned tomatoes with chopped chilies instead of plain tomato and I excluded the cilantro. I topped each slice with salsa, sour cream, guacamole and sliced black olives to serve. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This was very good. I also used pinto refried beans and added a can of chili peppers. My whole family loved this! I will make again and maybe add some chicken and corn next time. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Really yummy, and kids like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States