Seven Layer Tortilla Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was delicious! I heated the tortillas for a few minutes as suggested and substituted a can of Rotel for the tomatoes. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! I made a few changes to suit my tastes, but this is such a great recipe in and of itself! First, I reduced the amount of cheddar and replaced it with pepper jack cheese, then I added some cumin and some smoked paprika (I REALLY like the smoky flavor - if you aren't that into it, just leave out the paprika), added 1 more TBSP of cilantro, mixed 1 small can of green chilies in with the tomatoes, added some roasted red peppers (I roasted them myself, but it can be time consuming, so you can use a jar, too), and I didn't use flour tortillas. La Tortilla Factory makes some tortillas that are a corn and flour mix. They are super delicious and I find that they hold up better than anything else in recipes that have a lot of moisture. They are small, so they'll overlap if you don't trim the centers - also a little time consuming, but SO worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This recipe is great -- entire family loved it. Super quick to assemble... but definitely needs the entire 40 minutes of baking time. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montrod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is one of my families favorites. One modification I make is to use 1 lb ground beef mixed with 4 T taco seasoning instead of the beans. I also add a small can of sliced black olives to the mixture. In addition I use taco cheese between the tortilla and meat layers. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This was really good and we used lo-fat cheese and just half as much to help reduce the calories and fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irish Pixie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sanquhar, Dumfriesshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This was so easy and delicious. Followed the directions and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This was a good dish. I feel it might have been a bit bland had I not put cumin and onions into the mix, and I will probably be slightly baking the tortillas before I layer them because mine ended up very soggy. Overall, I liked the dish a lot, and I hope to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This recipe is surprisingly delicious! I made a few substitions since I didn't have all the ingredients on hand. I used one can of fat free refried beans instead of pinto beans, canned tomatoes with chopped chilies instead of plain tomato and I excluded the cilantro. I topped each slice with salsa, sour cream, guacamole and sliced black olives to serve. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This was very good. I also used pinto refried beans and added a can of chili peppers. My whole family loved this! I will make again and maybe add some chicken and corn next time. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Really yummy, and kids like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States