Seven Layer Tortilla Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
a good base but the beans are still a bland so I added diced jalepenos to it.That wasnt enough so I used another posters idea and sprinkled the layers with taco seasoning. That helped a lot more...gave it depth of ot just heat. The 7 layers are awkward to build/topples easily when cut so I cut it down to 4 or 5 layers/is a more manageable size. And since I had leftover steak from the grill last night I diced it up and tossed that in there too. Added diced green onions to the sour cream on top.n In the end this was a keeper and will come back to the table...but with a lot of changes so the original version only gets a 3 on the bland scale
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Super good. I added jalapeno peppers in mine. I also split the recipe into two pies - each with about 4-5 layers or so. I was afraid the 7 layers would topple over in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
is a good recipe but it need more flavor .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
this was very very good! i added an envelope of taco seasoning split between the two bean mixtures, and used a tin of vegetarian refried beans instead of mashing pinto beans. I used a drained tin of Ro-Tel tomatoes with lime and cilantro instead of fresh tomatoes, and used a lot more cheese---we're cheese lovers at our house! I thought the suggestion of a springform pan was very clever, so i did that and it came out terrific; would give 4.5 stars if i could, with 1/2 a star off for being a bit stodgy. Still delicious, filling, and easy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Love this! So easy and freezes well for reheat. I made it with meat and a 5 pepper blend for kick and added olives, diced tomatoes, green pepper and corn. Outrageously good! Will bake the tortillas next time for crispiness...the possibilites for this are endless, shredded chicken, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This is a yummy recipe - easy to prepare, also good for preparing ahead. I added ground beef (seasoned with burrito seasoning) to every layer. Great main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ulm, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Rescue, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
It was good, but with my modifications it was definitely a 5 star! Add some taco seasoning to the pinto beans (about a half packet), and used Rotel canned tomatoes and green chilies (for lack of fresh). I also added some lime juice to the black bean mixture and some fresh jalapeno. It was quite yummy! Without those, it was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This was excellent! I did opt to use re-fried beans instead of pinto beans and next time I'd add a fresh jalapeno to the re-fried beans also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This was pretty good. Was very deep and I could not fit all the layers into my pan and maybe the flavors are just not for my taste buds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I have one in the oven right now (made this once before) and I am dying of anticipation. So, SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 520) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States