Seven Layer Tortilla Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I have to give this 5 stars even though I made some changes. I think following the recipe as written would be perfect too! We had left over Carnitas (pork)so, I added a layer of the meat in the middle. Also used two cans of Rosarita refried beans in stead of mashing pinto beans and a can of Rotel tomatoes instead of fresh tomatoes. There's enough of both mixtures left over to make another small tortilla pie!!! The tortillas were heated on a dry skillet before using. I baked it in a spring-form pan, but won't do that again...a terrible mess as the first tortilla stuck to the bottom and all the juices burnt into the pan. I should have known to grease the pan! I also think the next size up for the tortillas would be a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This tasted pretty good, but it was a bit of a mess to serve. I did add some enchilada sauce between the layers and on top, so part of the mess was my doing. I also had extra beans - I can only imagine how messy it would have been if I'd used it all! I did use the springform pan and that helped contain it. I think I'd rather just roll them into enchiladas next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I was worried about how this would turn out, since I was in a hurry and screwed up a few things. I used whole wheat tortillas, a can of refried beans in place of the pintos, added some chopped bell pepper to the black beans, and was liberal with the cilantro. I also (accidentally) left out the tomatoes and didn't bother to measure the amount of beans I was spreading in each layer, so the top black bean layer was pretty skimpy and the whole stack of tortillas was droopy around the edges. I also used a combo of Mexican cheese blend and mozzarella. If I'd had more time, I definitely would have added more spices and vegetables, but as it was, it was delicious and held together surprisingly well! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jake and Travis' Mom
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
So simple and full of flavor! I did add a couple things to the recipe but otherwise I wouldn't change it at all. I added black olives and green onion and also used a Mexican blend cheese instead of cheddar. My husband said it was one of the best things I have made, my 2 year old devoured it and this will be put into my cookbook. I served it with Spanish rice, sour cream and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Delicious recipe that looks nice, too. Also, it's a lot more filling than you might think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Very good winter dish. Reheated it in the morning and added an over-medium egg on top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
this was great. i did add a pack of taco seasoning to the black bean mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Wow! I loved this recipe! I must say I am surprised how delicious this is. It looked good enough to give it a try, but I didn't think it would be as good as it is! It was super easy and the whole family loved it- even my 8 year old self-proclaimed bean hater loved this and said he wants me to make it again and again. I followed the recipe exactly (although I was generous with the cilantro since I love cilantro), and I think it has plenty of flavor and the tortillas were not at all soggy. It was perfect as is. We will definitely be adding this to our regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I spiced it up with taco seasoning and hot salsa, reduced the calories with low fat mexican cheese and low fat sour cream and cut the carbs with low carb tortillas. Now it is South Beach and WW friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smartt
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This tortilla pie was so good! I added black olives, green chilies, monterey jack cheese, corn, and shredded rotisserie chicken to the layers! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 521) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States