Seven Layer Tortilla Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
MY SON ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS!! Need I say anything more? This is a picky, fifteen year old who up to now has always said to me, 'Why don't you cook American?'. He wants me to make this again and again. Oh, btw, you don't need 2 cans of beans to do this, I just used one can and it was refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This was really good and I am glad I made it. Next time I will bake the tortillas first so they don't get soggy, good tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Made this dish the other day for a party I was hosting and it is absolutely delicious! I couldn't find canned pinto beans so used canned refried beans instead. I also used a Mexican cheese blend instead of cheddar. The package of tortillas I bought had 12 tortillas in it so I decided to make 2-6 layer pies. Fun and easy to put together and the house smelled amazing while it was baking. This was a huge hit at the party and I will definitely make it again! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VeggieGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I loved this recipe! I am vegetarian and was looking for something good like this. If you want to cook less, do only 2 layers and bake for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Wow the guys went crazy over this one. Used refried black beans with a medium salsa, and then used spicy pinquito beans, added two cups of a chicken I had just roasted, and Rotel with Lime and Cilantro. I used Cilantro paste from a tube, tastes good. I also only had corn tortillas but after softening the tortillas in the oven, they worked fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Kuhre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
We love this recipe. It is so easy and yummy! My kids eat it up and so does my husband. We follow the recipe and find it to be good as written! We will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I have to give this 5 stars even though I made some changes. I think following the recipe as written would be perfect too! We had left over Carnitas (pork)so, I added a layer of the meat in the middle. Also used two cans of Rosarita refried beans in stead of mashing pinto beans and a can of Rotel tomatoes instead of fresh tomatoes. There's enough of both mixtures left over to make another small tortilla pie!!! The tortillas were heated on a dry skillet before using. I baked it in a spring-form pan, but won't do that again...a terrible mess as the first tortilla stuck to the bottom and all the juices burnt into the pan. I should have known to grease the pan! I also think the next size up for the tortillas would be a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This tasted pretty good, but it was a bit of a mess to serve. I did add some enchilada sauce between the layers and on top, so part of the mess was my doing. I also had extra beans - I can only imagine how messy it would have been if I'd used it all! I did use the springform pan and that helped contain it. I think I'd rather just roll them into enchiladas next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I was worried about how this would turn out, since I was in a hurry and screwed up a few things. I used whole wheat tortillas, a can of refried beans in place of the pintos, added some chopped bell pepper to the black beans, and was liberal with the cilantro. I also (accidentally) left out the tomatoes and didn't bother to measure the amount of beans I was spreading in each layer, so the top black bean layer was pretty skimpy and the whole stack of tortillas was droopy around the edges. I also used a combo of Mexican cheese blend and mozzarella. If I'd had more time, I definitely would have added more spices and vegetables, but as it was, it was delicious and held together surprisingly well! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jake and Travis' Mom
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
So simple and full of flavor! I did add a couple things to the recipe but otherwise I wouldn't change it at all. I added black olives and green onion and also used a Mexican blend cheese instead of cheddar. My husband said it was one of the best things I have made, my 2 year old devoured it and this will be put into my cookbook. I served it with Spanish rice, sour cream and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States