Seven Layer Tortilla Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
My kids asked to take the leftovers in their lunches tomorrow. That says it all! I'll definitely make this one again with a couple of tweaks. I think I'll make a quick batch of refried beans instead of just pintos. I'll also lower the oven temperature (375° F) and go a little longer. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This was fantastic and not hard to make. It's also really filling. I deviated from the recipe a little. I cooked ground beef with a packet of taco seasoning. Separately I cooked a mixture of tomato, green onion, red pepper and yellow pepper in butter. When I layered the soft taco shells I did a layer of meat with salsa and shredded cheese, then the next layer was meat with the peppers, onion and tomato mixture and shredded cheese and then repeated the layers until my mixture ran out. I poured some salsa over top of the finished product and sprinkled more cheese and then baked. Each piece received a dollop of sour cream on top just before serving. I served each piece with a side of rice mixed with lentils. It was amazing looking and tasting. What impressed me the most with this was how easily it was to slice and dish out. I thought it might be messy or difficult but it wasn't at all. It sliced up just like soft butter and stayed together perfectly just as a lasagna would. I will definitely be making this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Very good, already made this twice! Love it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poland, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Could not be easier! Add some greens like spinach or kale to the black bean mixture for some extra calcium and iron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This is one of those miracle recipes that is reasonably healthy, tastes great, budget friendly, easy to make, and easy to customize. Definitely a go to on those nights when you are just too tired to cook. I had some left over fresh made salsa from taco take-out the night before so I used that, I put the green salsa in the pintos and the red salsa in the black beans. You can find salsa verde (green salsa) at the store and it is made with tomatillos, onion, garlic, and jalapeno. It has a tart/tangy kick that paired well with the roasted flavor of the traditional red salsa. I also layered some corn in there for added flavor and vegetables. I only needed 3 tortillas to do my layering as I have a shallow pie dish and it came out perfect. I served it with a frozen vegetable mix (broccoli, carrot, squash, and cauliflower) which I sauteed in olive oil, butter, and garlic about half way through the bake time. Would pair equally well with calabacitas: sauteed onion, squash, and corn (frozen is fine, green chiles optional). If you like you can substitute whole wheat tortillas too! Garnished mine with sour cream, chopped green onions, and chopped fresh cilantro. Again a must try recipe and one to keep in your arsenal for those hectic tired evenings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Yum yum yum so easy and cool looking too. I've seen this kind of recipe for years and never tried it...wish I had sooner. I sautéed peppers and onions may add chilies next time. Added a little chili powder and garlic salt but not needed this would be great as written for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This is a staple at our household,,,,,we use "Lucks" pinto beans, they are prepared in pork, gives it a nice flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Really good. I switched the proportions to two cans of black beans to one of pinto. I also added a little more cheese. I also needed to bake it for about 50-55 minutes, otherwise it was still a little cool in the center. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Good, but nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 521) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States