Seven Layer Taco Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I make a recipe very similar to this. I do not use lettuce (as it tends to wilt as it sits out) and I don't use green pepper. Even though I love green pepper, I don't feel it belongs in this recipe (just my opinion). I make homemade guacamole and put that layer on top of the sour cream/cream cheese layer. I found a good guac recipe on this site (LuvAnn's Guacamole) that I use. They always "lick the platter clean" every single time. I've NEVER had leftovers. I serve with Tostitos Scoops as they grab the dip more! Oh and this doesnt' totally spread to fit in a 13x9 pan (mostly the beans don't) so I bought a clear pyrex dish a slightly smaller size. This dish has pretty much become my 7-layer dip dish because it's requested so much at every party! This is an awesome crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3003 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Dufour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Great recipe, thank you. One word of advice on the container you put it in, an 11 x 7 is no where near large enough. I ended up leaving out the lettuce, not that any one cared! I will use my 9 x 13 next time, I think that will be the perfect size. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2372 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
This recipe is very good as is, but is also easy to alter to personal taste. I have took suggestions of others and added 1 lb. of hamburger to the taco seasoning and guacamole instead of lettuce, both very good. I however like this recipe best with medium taco seasoning and salsa and also adding a can of Rotel instead of the tomato, green pepper, onions. Very easy and adds a bit of a kick to it. The 13X9in. dish works the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1871 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Great dip. I started off with the beans for layer one. The cream cheese , sour cream, and half of taco seasoning mix(makes it very spicy)mixed together for layer two. I added guacamole for layer three. Diced tomatoes for layer four. Black olives for layer five. Salsa for layer six and lots of shredded cheese for layer seven. I skipped onions, lettuce, and peppers and spread my layers in a 13x9 inch glass dish and heated at 350 for 30 minutes and talk about people raving. Everyone wanted to know the recipe. Easy, delicious and def a keeper for a fun appetizer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
927 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Just wonderful! I actually used a hybrid of user advice here and ended up with this layer combination (from bottom up): Layer 1-refried beans Layer 2-Cream cheese, sour cream and taco seasoning Layer 3-Guacamole Layer 4-Tomatoes, green peppers, green onions, and lettuce Layer 5-Salsa Layer 6-Shredded Cheddar cheese Layer 7-Black beans I really liked this combination of ingredients and didn't find the lettuce or any of the other vegetables to be bothersome. I didn't know whether I would prefer this dish hot or cold, so I served it warm the first night, and we had the leftovers cold. I love it either way, and plan to make it again, both for my own family and for get-togethers, for which it is perfect in terms of size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
681 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I'm a big fan of taco dip, so I LOVED this recipe. I've made it many times and everyone always loves it. I think it's way better without meat in it. I find that I can't have it in the refrigerator, because if I do I'll eat it for breakfast, lunch and dinner. My only suggestion would be to definitely get the thick and chunky salsa, and drain it a bit; otherwise it gets a little runny. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
458 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I drastically reduced the fat and calories by substituting fat-free sour cream, fat-free cream cheese, and reduced fat cheddar. Brought it to a party and NO ONE noticed the change, because all the other flavors made up for it. The dip was scarfed up, and I got requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
267 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
This dip is wonderful! I have even altered it a little bit by adding a layer of hamburger meat mixed with the taco seasoning mix. That is wonderful as well. My husband and I love it and it is good and easy for like Saturday nights when we just want something small but so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Any time you combine these ingredients, you are going to get something pretty tasty. But I think this particular recipe has some issues. For instance, why mix cream cheese in with the sour cream? To me, that doesn't seem to add a lot, and it throws the proportions off (too much dairy). I'd rather mix the taco seasonings into the sour cream and forget the cream cheese. Why put the cheddar cheese at the very top instead of on the (presumably hot) refried beans, where it will get a little gooey? And if you're going to add multiple layers that look alike (e.g. diced tomatoes & salsa, or green pepper/green onions/lettuce), why put them together so they only look like one layer? There are better ways to order the layers. If you make this and put lettuce in it, be sure to chop the lettuce very, very finely; otherwise you can't dip through the lettuce layer with any normal chip. I'd suggest finding another layer dip, or making modifications to this one. I wouldn't make it again as-is. It's not bad, but given that there are so many great recipes for layer dips out there, I wouldn't settle for one that's just "not bad."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
This is so good! The cream cheese really adds something to the sour cream layer. I took this to a function and it was all eaten--people went back for more! I don't think it really makes 56 servings; I would guess more like 25 or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Outrageous Warm Chicken Nacho Dip

Cheese dip loaded with chicken, tomatoes, black beans and a zip of spice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States