Seven Layer Taco Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I sprinkled a little cumin over the veggie layer for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccks4ever2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Townsend, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
My friends couldn't stop until it was gone! Said it was the best taco dip they'd ever had! I omitted the olives and green peppers because I personally don't care for them. I would recommend using a low-sodium seasoning mix if possible. But overall a Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is a definite hit, if you need to make an impression bring this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by auraonfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Loved it! Surprisingly had all the ingredients in my kitchen already, super easy to do took about 20 min to prepare and is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TeeLee
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I changed a couple things to suit my own tastes: 1) I did not include bell pepper as its not an ingredient I typically think of when eating tacos 2) I did not add guac, however, I will in the future 3) I DID add taco meat; being a carnivore, I just HAD to. Although I made a few changes, this recipe is a great start to an awesome dip you can cater to your own personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeeLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
WOW! I had no idea how much dip it was.It was great! The kids and my husband made tacos and burritos for 2 days after Super bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Wonderful Flavor! I omitted the lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Brought this to a Super Bowl party. I added a layer of shredded chicken and used blue runner red kidney beans instead of the refried beans (I don't really like refried beans). Also left out the black olives, green peppers and green onions (I added finely diced onions to the guacamole) and added a layer of homemade guacamole. I did use shredded green leaf lettuce. It was very delicious but the salsa did cause it to get runny after a few hours. I should have followed the others advice and drained the salsa. I will make again with a few variations, but overall it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Super simple to assemble in short amount of time. Made healthier with a few substitutions: lower-fat cream cheese and Greek yogurt instead of sour cream; homemade salsa; added some red onion to green onion and 1 cup cheese variety (some cheddar, pepper jack, etc). Delicious and a hit at our party! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iannacca
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Very nice recipe, I took in part the suggestions of Janet Dufor and JULIEWNEK (thanks to both!) and added my own twist, substituting lettuce (for the sogginess issue) and green bell pepper (my son does not like them) with a simple guacamole, which I made just mashing 5-6 avodacos, adding chili powder and cumin to taste, the juice of a lime (can use 1/2 too) and about 4-6 oz of creamy goat cheese. I used ~ 1lb. of 85% lean ground turkey for the taco meat, also spiced up with the taco seasoning mix (but added chili powder and cumin to taste to this too because the mix I had was a bit wimpy). I also warmed up the refried beans before spreading them (added a bit of water to it to make is a bit creamier, o/w too guey straight out of the can, can use chicken stock too). I had a large platter (and a nice size group!), so I decided to double the beans (2 cans). I also used light sour cream and no cream cheese to cut a bit on calories. I ended up with eight layers, which I arranged as follows (from bottom to top): 1) Refried beans; 2) Turkey taco meat; 3) Shredded Cheddar cheese (melted nicely on top the two warm layers); 4) Sour cream; 5) Salsa; 6) My guacamole; 7) Rotel original recipe tomatoes mixed with chives instead of green onions (either OK I think); 8) Sliced black olives. Great with either tortilla chips of all sorts or even soft corn tortillas (we used a lot of the latter and blue corn chips for some gluten-intolerant people). Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iannacca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,688) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Outrageous Warm Chicken Nacho Dip

Cheese dip loaded with chicken, tomatoes, black beans and a zip of spice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States