Seven Layer Taco Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I've been looking for a really good layered dip and I've found it! The only changes I made was I put "two cans of refried beans with roasted chiles" into the taco mix (all I could taste with one can was salt, two cans were perfect) I did use all the beans which was good, but next time I think I'll only use half and save half for another time. I also used "light" sour cream and "reduced calorie" cream cheese, and I could not tell the difference. Also I did the layers the same EXCEPT I switched it around when it came to the lettuce, cheese and olives. I put the shredded cheddar cheese, then the lettuce, then the olives. I found I liked the look of it better, AND I could make the layered dip a day ahead (up to the cheese layer), then the next day I chopped up the lettuce (so no wilting and stayed crisp), then added the olives. This took hardly any time to do that, and I think this tastes better if made a day ahead. I'm not one for very spicy food, but I liked the flavor of this without all the heat. If you do like it hotter you can spice it up by using refried beans with a lot more kick. One more thing I'll mention (I know someone else commented) in the video I was turned off by her whole hand (up to her knuckle) going into the dip when she scooped it out with the chip. My solution for this is I put a tablespoon in the dish, so people could scoop it out with the spoon and put it on the nacho chip (worked for me). I will be making this again. Thank you Sue for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Everyone in my family loved this dip, even the hard to please kids. Its great for any occasion. I love you website and I use it all the time. Keepum comin! Diana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Channahon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Fantastic! Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Ferguson
Home Town: Russell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
The best seven layer dip! The lettuce gives it a great crunch. Be sure to dry of the lettuce well and choose a salsa that is not watery. It makes a lot of dip, I used a 9 x 13 inch glass dish and it filled it. I skipped the tomatoes and used red bell peppers instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clubby981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
It was a real hit ..Did not put olives on the top because I don't care for them and could not find fried beans soused hamburg meat instead .Will make again next week for family reunion .It is a five star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I made this for a family gathering and received nothing but praise for it! Great make-ahead dish that also travels well. It will be my go-to appetizer recipes for functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Just made this yet again. Actually had someone knocking on my door the day after I made it asking if there was any left! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I made this for the 4th and everyone loved it. I also decorated the top to look like a flag using black olives sliced up and formed stars and cherry tomatoes sliced for the rows. The cheese was the top layer to pull it off. I realized later that I could have used white cheese to make it look even better. I will make this again very soon as it was so easy and a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This recipe is a hit with my family- although I have a couple of suggestions. Most importantly- add guacamole. It's simply not as good without it. Second- it's good the first day, but better the second day. Therefore, I didn't add the lettuce. Not so sure that would look so pretty the second or third day. I did, however, add black beans. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
A huge hit at pot lucks! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,665) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States