Seven Layer Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
This is an awesome recipe. Comments were made about the dressing being to thick. My aunt gave me this same recipe but the dressing uses 1 cup mayo and 1 cup sour cream and of course the parmesan cheese and sugar. It makes a creamy dressing and is easier to spread and is soooo good. My family just loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1274 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
I made this for a party recently and it was a big hit. The only change I would make is to layer the dressing in the salad instead of just adding it to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
934 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
Rave reviews from everyone at the family reunion this weekend! The full pound of bacon and the red onions really make the salad. I also loved the addition of parmesan cheese to the mayo dressing--used the fancy shred, rather than the powdered canned stuff, and it worked out very well. I also increased the mayo to 2 cups. My dad, who'd never had this kind of salad before, asked if it was my own recipe, because, "this is a real award winner, if you ask me!" Thanks for a great, simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
507 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
This is an excellent recipe. Because the dressing is rather thick when first prepared, it should read "spread" the dressing instead of "drizzle" it over the salad. It thins after sitting and then being tossed with the vegetable mixture. This salad can be prepared and refrigerated 8-12 hours before serving. I substituted Swiss cheese instead of Cheddar, and added 3 chopped hard boiled eggs and 1 cup of chopped celery. I love recipes that can be made-up ahead of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
I was looking for new ways to get veggies into my husband. He likes a lot of raw, but not cooked vegetables. I made this recipe yesterday and my husband & I loved it! Changes I would make next time: *use 1 C mayo & 1 C sourcream instead of 1 1/4 C mayo *add 3 chopped, boiled eggs *add a tablespoon of white vinegar to mayo & sourcream mixture *as a finishing touch, add extra crumbled bacon and shredded (not grated) parmesean cheese & 1/2 C of toasted, chopped pecans. Changes I made yesterday: *I used 1/2 of a large, sweet onion instead of a red onion (it was too strong) *I used shredded Parmesean cheese to the mayo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
My sister requested I make a seven layer salad for Easter this year. I looked up some on-line and decided to try this recipe. It was wonderful. I made it last weekend to test and brought it to an Easter dinner this weekend. I did change a few things. Instead of just iceburg lettuce I mixed in a package of spring greens to make it more colorful. I also used half mayonnaise and half miracle whip and added two tbsp milk to thin the dressing. I made the salad the night before and tossed it to just prior to serving. It still looked pretty and everyone got a good mixture of the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
This is a great salad. At first I thought the dressing was a bit too thick, but it wasn't once the salad was served. Actually, the thickness of the dressing served as a preservative, keeping the salad fresh for several days in the fridge. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Hess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
Delicious! I used mushrooms instead of cauliflower and added chopped, hard boiled eggs. I also added some ranch dressing to the mayonaise to jazz up the dressing. I took it to a pot-luck and everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
This is really good! I brought it as my dish to pass at a family gathering and got big raves - they went back for thirds! I'm not a big red onion fan so I used green onions instead, I like the taste of freshness they give a salad. And to make it easier, I used the already cooked and crumbled bacon from the salad dressing aisle - goes together super fast that way! And I think next time I won't use as much parmesan in the dressing, it was a little chunky for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
Absolutely wonderful. Have passed this recipe on to others, by request!! I always have to make a second batch of the mayonaise and sugar mixture, but other than that, it is a hit at our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovemyfamily09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States